+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT

Catalogue Fiction Header

Catalogue Fiction Intro

Welcome to the fiction section of the Booktopia Catalogue, a selection of the best books coming this May.

This month brings us an exciting debut that’s just perfect for readers of The Kite Runner and The Tattooist of Auschwitz. The Beekeeper of Aleppo is a harrowing story of a journey through a broken world and a celebration of humanity.

We’re also thrilled to see a new book from super duo James Patterson and Candice Fox, the first of a new series from Paullina Simons, and much, much more!

Read on for more of the best and be sure to visit the Non-Fiction and Kids sections of the catalogue too!

Happy Reading
Ben Hunter
Booktopia Team

Buzz - Catalogue Fiction

Book of the Month

The Place on Dalhousie

by Melina Marchetta

RRP: $32.99

Our Price: $24.50 | Save 26%

'You look the type to break your father's heart.'
'Yeah, but he broke mine first.'

When Rosie Gennaro first meets Jimmy Hailler, she has walked away from life in Sydney, leaving behind the place on Dalhousie that her father, Seb, painstakingly rebuilt for his family but never saw completed. Two years later, Rosie returns to the house and living there is Martha, whom Seb Gennaro married less than a year after the death of Rosie's mother. Martha is struggling to fulfil Seb's dream, while Rosie is coming to terms with new responsibilities. And so begins a stand-off between two women who refuse to move out of the home they both lay claim to.

"It’s so absolutely flawless you almost want to applaud!" – Sarah McDuling, Booktopian Review


Order Now

Buzz - Catalogue Fiction EL James

All-New E.L. James

The Mister

by E. L. James

RRP: $19.99

Our Price: $14.95 | Save 25%

The thrilling new romance from E L James, author of the phenomenal number 1 bestselling Fifty Shades trilogy.

London, 2019. Life has been easy for Maxim Trevelyan. With his good looks, aristocratic connections, and money, he’s never had to work and he’s rarely slept alone. But all that changes when tragedy strikes and Maxim inherits his family’s noble title, wealth, and estates, and all the responsibility that entails. It’s a role he’s not prepared for and one that he struggles to face.

But his biggest challenge is fighting his desire for an unexpected, enigmatic young woman who’s recently arrived in England, possessing little more than a dangerous and troublesome past. Reticent, beautiful, and musically gifted, she’s an alluring mystery, and Maxim’s longing for her deepens into a passion that he’s never experienced and dares not name. Just who is Alessia Demachi? Can Maxim protect her from the malevolence that threatens her? And what will she do when she learns that he’s been hiding secrets of his own?


Order Now

Buzz - Catalogue Fiction - Life & Love

New From Natasha Lestser

The French Photographer

by Natasha Lester

RRP: $29.99

Our Price: $23.95 | Save 20%

Inspired by the incredible true story of Lee Miller, Vogue model turned one of the first female war photojournalists, the new novel by the bestselling author of The Paris Seamstress

Manhattan, Paris, 1942: When Jessica May's successful modelling career is abruptly cut short, she is assigned to the war in Europe as a photojournalist for Vogue. But when she arrives the army men make her life as difficult as possible. Three friendships change that: journalist Martha Gellhorn encourages Jess to bend the rules, paratrooper Dan Hallworth takes her to places to shoot pictures and write stories that matter, and a little girl, Victorine, who has grown up in a field hospital, shows her love. But success comes at a price.

France, 2005: Australian curator D'Arcy Hallworth arrives at a beautiful chateau to manage a famous collection of photographs. What begins as just another job becomes far more disquieting as D'Arcy uncovers the true identity of the mysterious photographer -- and realises that she is connected to D'Arcy's own mother, Victorine.


Order Now

Buzz - Catalogue Fiction Crime

The Heart-stopping New Australian Thriller

Eight Lives

by Susan Hurley

RRP: $32.99

Our Price: $24.50 | Save 26%

"Fast-moving, smart and powerfully told through a diverse cast of characters, Eight Lives is a sophisticated thriller examining the money, manipulation, power and prejudice that lies at the heart of medicine's cutting edge. I was hooked and you will be too." – Ben Hunter, Fiction Category Manager

Former refugee David Tran becomes the Golden Boy of Australian medical research and invents a drug that could transform immunology. Eight volunteers are recruited for the first human trial, a crucial step on the path to global fame for David and windfall gains for his investors. But when David dies in baffling circumstances, motives are put under the microscope.


Order Now

Buzz - Catalogue Fiction - David Badacci

New From David Badacci

Redemption: Amos Decker Book 5

by David Baldacci

RRP: $29.99

Our Price: $23.95 | Save 20%

FBI Special Agent Amos Decker discovers that a mistake he made as a rookie detective may have led to deadly consequences in the latest Memory Man thriller in David Baldacci's number one New York Times bestselling series.

Amos Decker and his FBI partner Alex Jamison are visiting his hometown of Burlington, Ohio, when he's approached by an unfamiliar man. But he instantly recognizes the man's name: Meryl Hawkins. He's the first person Decker ever arrested for murder back when he was a young detective. Though a dozen years in prison have left Hawkins unrecognizably aged and terminally ill, one thing hasn't changed: He maintains he never committed the murders.

Could it be possible that Decker made a mistake all those years ago? As he starts digging into the old case, Decker finds a startling connection to a new crime that he may be able to prevent, if only he can put the pieces together quickly enough...


Order Now

Buzz - Catalogue Fiction - Wilbur

New Wilbur Smith

King of Kings

by Wilbur Smith

RRP: $39.99

Our Price: $29.95 | Save 25%

An epic story of love, betrayal, courage and war that brings together two of Wilbur Smith's greatest families in this long-awaited sequel to his worldwide bestseller, The Triumph of the Sun.

Cairo, 1887. A beautiful September day. Pernod Ballantyne and his fiancee, Amber Benbrook, stroll hand in hand. The future is theirs for the taking.

But when Penrod's jealous former lover, Lady Agatha, plants doubt about his character, Amber leaves him and travels to the wilds of Abyssinia with her twin sister, Saffron, and her adventurer husband, Ryder Courtney. On a mission to establish a silver mine, they make the dangerous journey to the new capital of Addis Ababa, where they are welcomed by Menelik, the King of Kings. But Italy has designs on Abyssinia, and there are rumours of a plan to invade...


Order Now

Buzz - Catalogue Fiction Bestsellers

The Australian Blockbuster in New Edition Paperback

Boy Swallows Universe

by Trent Dalton

RRP: $19.99

Our Price: $15.95 | Save 20%

"In Boy Swallows Universe, Walkley-winning journalist Trent Dalton bends his own horrific story of a chaotic youth in the heroin-drenched suburbs that Brisbane forgot into a bright and brilliant phantasmagoria – an instant classic of Australian storytelling." – Ben Hunter, Booktopian review

Brisbane, 1983: A lost father, a mute brother, a mum in jail, a heroin dealer for a stepfather and a notorious crim for a babysitter. It's not as if Eli's life isn't complicated enough already. He's just trying to follow his heart, learning what it takes to be a good man, but life just keeps throwing obstacles in the way - not least of which is Tytus Broz, legendary Brisbane drug dealer.


Order Now

Buzz - Catalogue Fiction Coming Soon

Coming Soon

City of Girls

by Elizabeth Gilbert

RRP: $32.95

Our Price: $24.50 | Save 25%

The blazingly brilliant new novel from Elizabeth Gilbert, author of the international bestseller Eat Pray Love: a glittering coming-of-age epic stitched across the fabric of a lost New York

It is the summer of 1940. Nineteen-year-old Vivian Morris arrives in New York with her suitcase and sewing machine, exiled by her despairing parents. Although her quicksilver talents with a needle and commitment to mastering the perfect hair roll have been deemed insufficient for her to pass into her sophomore year of Vassar, she soon finds gainful employment as the self-appointed seamstress at the Lily Playhouse, her unconventional Aunt Peg's charmingly disreputable Manhattan revue theatre. There, Vivian quickly becomes the toast of the showgirls, transforming the trash and tinsel only fit for the cheap seats into creations for goddesses.

Exile in New York is no exile at all: here in this strange wartime city of girls, Vivian and her girlfriends mean to be free, to get up to no good, to drink the heady highball of life itself to the last drop. And when the legendary English actress Edna Watson comes to the Lily to star in the company's most ambitious show ever, Vivian is entranced by the magic that follows in the wake of this true, true star.


Order Now

Buzz - Catalogue Fiction Crime/Thrillers

A New Dirk Pitt Adventure

Celtic Empire: Dirk Pitt Adventures Book 25

by Clive Cussler & Dirk Cussler

RRP: $32.99

Our Price: $24.50 | Save 25%

An ancient mystery becomes an all-too-real modern threat for Dirk Pitt and his colleagues, in an extraordinary adventure novel in one of suspense fiction's most beloved series.

The murder of a team of U.N. scientists while investigating mysterious deaths in El Salvador. A deadly collision in the waterways off Detroit. An attack from tomb raiders on an archeological site along the Nile. Is there a link between these violent events? The answer may lie with the tale of an Egyptian princess forced to flee the armies of her father three thousand years ago.

From the desert sands of Egypt to the rocky isles of Ireland to the deepwater lochs of Scotland, only Dirk Pitt can unravel the secrets of an ancient enigma that could change the very future of mankind.


Order Now

Buzz - Catalogue Fiction Peggy Frew

New Australian Fiction

Islands

by Peggy Frew

RRP: $29.99

Our Price: $22.50 | Save 25%

A stunning literary novel from the author of the Stella Prize shortlisted Hope Farm.

'There was a house on a hill in the city and it was full of us, our family, but then it began to empty. We fell out. We made a mess. We draped ourselves in blame and disappointment and lurched around, bumping into each other. Some of us wailed and shouted; some of us barely made a sound. None of us was listening, or paying attention. And in the middle of it all you, very quietly, were gone.'

Helen and John are too preoccupied with making a mess of their marriage to notice the quiet ways in which their daughters are suffering. Junie grows up brittle and defensive, Anna difficult and rebellious.

When fifteen-year-old Anna fails to come home one night, her mother's not too worried; Anna's taken off before but always returned. Helen waits three days to report her disappearance. But this time Anna doesn't come back ...

STAFF REVIEW: Islands by Peggy Frew


Order Now

Buzz - Catalogue Fiction Gorgeous Gifts

Buzz - Catalogue Fiction Audio Book Bestsellers

Catalogue Top Navigation