Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Lost Man - Jane Harper
Crime & Thriller Staff Pick

The Lost Man

By: Jane Harper

Paperback | 28 May 2019

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%OFF

Aims to ship in 15 to 18 business days

Booktopia Comments
I've loved all of Jane Harper's novels but this one remains the absolute standout for me. The first page alone is enough to burn this book into your brain permanently. — Ben
Product Description
Three brothers, one death, a fenceline stretching to the horizon.

Two brothers meet at the border of their vast cattle properties under the unrelenting sun of outback Queensland.

They are at the stockman's grave, a landmark so old, no one can remember who is buried there. But today, the scant shadow it casts was the last hope for their middle brother, Cameron.

The Bright family's quiet existence is thrown into grief and anguish.

Something had been troubling Cam. Did he lose hope and walk to his death? Because if he didn't, the isolation of the outback leaves few suspects...

For readers who loved The Dry and Force of Nature, Jane Harper has once again created a powerful story of suspense, set against a dazzling landscape.

Staff Review by Sarah McDuling

Like many people, I was utterly blown away by Jane Harper’s astonishing first novel, The Dry. And then, still riding the enormous success of her debut, she smashed it out of the park again with her second novel, Force of Nature

Publishing two bestselling and award-winning novels in two years is quite an impressive feat. Now, with the impending release of her third novel, The Lost Man, I think the question everyone is asking is … can Jane Harper do it again?

You guys. She has totally done it again!

The Lost Man rocketed past all my high expectations and set a whole new standard that will be very difficult to beat. When I first heard that this book would not feature Aaron Falk as a main character – I’ll admit I had some misgivings. I love Aaron Falk. Everyone loves Aaron Falk. I should have known better than to doubt the genius of Jane Harper. Despite how much I loved her previous two novels, I am stunned to admit I think The Lost Man may well be the best thing she has ever written!

This incredibly gripping and intense novel begins with one of the most cinematic opening chapters I have read in ages … probably since the opening of The Dry. Set in outback Queensland, once again Jane Harper brings the Australian landscape vividly to life. Every page of The Lost Man is drenched in atmosphere. The harsh, unforgiving terrain is depicted almost like a character in it’s own right, with a vital role to play.

Harper draws readers into a strange alien landscape, a wasteland scorched beneath an unrelenting sun – an eerie, godforsaken place where “rivers flooded without rain and seashells fossilised a thousand miles from water and men who left their cars found themselves walking to their deaths.”

If you enjoyed Jane Harper’s previous books and felt any concern when you heard that her new book wouldn’t feature Aaron Falk … fear not! For one thing, I predict many readers will come to the end of The Lost Man feeling as I did – that this is Jane Harper’s best novel yet! For another, if you are an observant reader you may spot a subtle shout out to The Dry hidden within the pages of The Lost Man – a little easter egg for the fans to find, if they are paying close attention.

Touching on a lot of dark themes, including domestic violence and rape, The Lost Man is a story about family and secrets. It’s a story about pain and violence and how it can echo through generations – about how untold suffering will eventually find a way to be heard. It’s also a complex and utterly enthralling mystery that asks a burning question…

What happened to Cameron Bright?

Australian Crime & Thriller Bestsellers

Scrublands : Martin Scarsden - Chris Hammer

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Ruin : Cormac Reilly : Book 1 - Dervla McTiernan

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Dry - Jane Harper

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Lost Man - Jane Harper

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Dark Lake - Sarah Bailey

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Force of Nature - Jane Harper

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Broken Shore : Broken Shore Series - Peter Temple

RRP $23.95

$20.95

13%
OFF
Truth - Peter Temple

Paperback

RRP $23.95

$20.95

13%
OFF
Wimmera - Mark Brandi

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Bad Debts : Jack Irish: Book 1 - Peter Temple

RRP $19.99

$18.25

The Dying Trade : Cliff Hardy : Book 1 - Peter Corris

RRP $12.95

$12.50

Resurrection Bay : Caleb Zelic: Book 1 - Emma Viskic

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil - Melina Marchetta

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
The Rip - Mark Brandi

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Good Girl, Bad Girl : Winner of the 2020 CWA Gold Dagger Award - Michael Robotham
Comeback : Jack van Duyn - Lindsay Tanner

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
Life Before - Carmel Reilly

Paperback

$36.99

Boxed - Richard Anderson

Paperback

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
The Chain - Adrian McKinty

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
River of Salt - Dave Warner

Paperback

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
All the Tears in China : Rowland Sinclair: Book 9 - Sulari Gentill

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Ink Stain : Monsarrat: Book 4 - Tom Keneally

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Cocaine Blues : Phryne Fisher : Book 1 - Kerry Greenwood

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF

2019 Ned Kelly Awards - Best Crime Longlist

Scrublands : Martin Scarsden - Chris Hammer

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Lost Man - Jane Harper

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Other Wife : Joseph O'Loughlin: Book 9 - Michael Robotham

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Kill Shot : A Wyatt Thriller - Garry Disher

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
Live and Let Fry : A Rusty Bore Mystery - Sue Williams

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
The Rip - Mark Brandi

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Preservation - Jock Serong

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Under Your Wings (The Majesties) - Tiffany Tsao

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF

2019 Ned Kelly Awards - Best Crime Shortlist

The Lost Man - Jane Harper

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Other Wife : Joseph O'Loughlin: Book 9 - Michael Robotham

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Kill Shot : A Wyatt Thriller - Garry Disher

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
Live and Let Fry : A Rusty Bore Mystery - Sue Williams

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF

Books to read after The Dry

Taken : Bestselling author of The Torrent - Dinuka McKenzie

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Echo Lake - Joan Sauers

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Lost Man - Jane Harper

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Dark Lake - Sarah Bailey

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Force of Nature - Jane Harper

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Broken Bay : A Place Where Truth Is Dead in the Water - Margaret Hickey
The Rush - Michelle Prak

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Crows Nest : The First Dana Gibson Mystery - Nikki Mottram

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Broken Shore : Broken Shore Series - Peter Temple

RRP $23.95

$20.95

13%
OFF
Bitter Wash Road - Garry Disher

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Wimmera - Mark Brandi

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Dirt Town - Hayley Scrivenor

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Survivors - Jane Harper

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Resurrection Bay : Caleb Zelic: Book 1 - Emma Viskic

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF

The Best of New Australian Crime

Taken : Bestselling author of The Torrent - Dinuka McKenzie

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
All That's Left Unsaid : Longlisted for the 2023 Stella Prize - Tracey Lien
Echo Lake - Joan Sauers

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Lost Man - Jane Harper

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Broken Bay : A Place Where Truth Is Dead in the Water - Margaret Hickey
The Rush - Michelle Prak

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Carnival Is Over - Greg Woodland

SIGNED COPY

RRP $32.99

$17.95

46%
OFF
Crows Nest : The First Dana Gibson Mystery - Nikki Mottram

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Lowbridge - Lucy Campbell

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Dirt Town - Hayley Scrivenor

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Home Before Night - J.P. Pomare

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
After the Flood : Dave Warner Crime - Dave Warner

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
How to Kill a Client - Joanna Jenkins

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Cane - Maryrose Cuskelly

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Black River - Matthew Spencer

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF

Other Books By Jane Harper

Exiles - Jane Harper

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Dry - Jane Harper

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Lost Man - Jane Harper

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Survivors : Even The Deepest Secrets Rise To The Surface... - Jane Harper
Force of Nature - Jane Harper

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Lost Man - Jane Harper

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.50

11%
OFF
The Dry : Film Tie-In Edition - Jane Harper

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Force of Nature : Film Tie-In Edition - Jane Harper

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
The Survivors : Even The Deepest Secrets Rise To The Surface .... - Jane Harper