Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The New Rulebook : Notes from a psychologist to help redefine the way you live, for fans of Glennon Doyle, Bren© Brown, Elizabeth Gilbert and Julie Smith - Chris Cheers

The New Rulebook

Notes from a psychologist to help redefine the way you live, for fans of Glennon Doyle, Bren© Brown, Elizabeth Gilbert and Julie Smith

By: Chris Cheers

Hardcover | 1 February 2023

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

A practical, inclusive guide to life from Instagram's favourite psychologist Chris Cheers.

Take a moment and check in with how you've been feeling lately. Maybe a little tired, stressed or burnt out? All the recent upheaval and uncertainty has left many of us not only feeling exhausted, but also questioning who we are and what we want from life. Yet instead of taking the necessary time to process and answer these important questions, many of us are feeling pressured to just get back to 'normal'. But what if we want better than normal? The world has changed - we have changed - so when it comes to caring for our wellbeing, it's clear we need new rules.

The New Rulebook is a practical, game-changing guide to embracing that uncertainty. It compassionately asks you to re-examine five key areas: self-care, emotions, work, body and love (all the big stuff!), and then offers radical, evidence-based solutions to improve your wellbeing. Led not by expectation, but by what you need. The rulebook for life has been thrown out the window over the last few years. Rather than picking it back up, let's write a new one.

About the Author

Chris Cheers is a psychologist and educator with a focus on elevating mental health in the arts and LGBTIQA+ communities. Chris is a university lecturer, an endorsed Educational and Developmental Psychologist Supervisor, member of the Australian Professional Association for Transgender Health (AusPATH), published academic, and PhD candidate at the Centre for Alcohol and Policy Research at La Trobe University. Chris is a regular contributor in the media featured on the 7am podcast, ABC News and Reputation Rehab (ABC TV), his writing appearing in Archer Magazine and featured interviews for The Guardian, The Age and The Sydney Morning Herald.

Chris has also provided workshops and mental health consultation to arts organisations, theatre productions, universities and companies across Australia.
Industry Reviews
'A must-read for anyone who's overwhelmed by the increasing uncertainty of the world.' - Osher Günsberg

'Chris Cheers has a way of explaining the world and how we live that will make real changes to our future.' - Jacinta Parsons, ABC Radio Melbourne

'This is a book you'll want to return to - again and again - every time things get tough.' - Benjamin Law

'This psychology book is like no other. The author challenges core beliefs, whilst being affirming and refreshingly open about himself. It punches. Read it.' - Dr Mark Cross, psychiatrist and bestselling author of Anxiety

'The practical tips he provides leave the reader with no excuse but to set those boundaries and start living in alignment.' - Jessica Sanders, social worker and bestselling author of Me Time

'Chris Cheers' words have been so comforting throughout the pandemic. This book is a practical and kind resource for anyone looking for mental-health coping strategies.' - Carly Findlay OAM

'At a time of great upheaval and uncertainty, The New Rulebook is the anchor we need to pull us back to shore and live a calmer, more meaningful life.' - Jill Stark, mental health advocate and bestselling author of High Sobriety

'This book held me at the edge of feeling both challenged and safe. I read it in one sitting - but I will keep it close by for the powerful reminders, interventions and ideas it offers. Cheers shows us the potential of rewriting the script in a way that is so validating, humanising and aware.' - Georgia Grace, certified Australian sex coach

'In this book, Chris provides a new way of being - one which is centred on good care for self, good care for others and good care for the world.' - Dr Ahona Guha, clinical and forensic psychologist, and author

More in Popular Psychology

Finding Your People : The Ultimate Guide to Friendship - Alexandra Hourigan
Rebel Talk : The Art of Powerful Conversations - Jane Hutcheon

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $26.99

$21.75

19%
OFF
The Untethered Soul : The Journey Beyond Yourself - Michael A. Singer
Good With Money - Emma Edwards

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Worthy : How to Believe You Are Enough and Transform Your Life - Jamie Kern Lima
The Choice : A true story of hope - Edith Eger

RRP $24.99

$23.75

Grit : The Power of Passion and Perseverance - Angela Duckworth
Ikigai : The Japanese Secret to a Long and Happy Life - Hector Garcia