Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens
Reese's Book Club Pick

Where the Crawdads Sing

By: Delia Owens

Paperback | 14 January 2020 | Edition Number 1

At a Glance
This Product Is Also Featured In:

Paperback


RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%OFF

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick


For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life - until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

About the Author

Delia Owens is the co-author of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa including Cry of the Kalahari. She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and many others. She currently lives in Idaho. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.
Industry Reviews
A painfully beautiful first novel that is at once a murder mystery, a coming-of-age narrative and a celebration of nature . . . Owens here surveys the desolate marshlands of the North Carolina coast through the eyes of an abandoned child. And in her isolation that child makes us open our own eyes to the secret wonders-and dangers-of her private world - New York Times Book Review

An Amazon Best Book of August 2018: This novel has a mystery at its core, but it can be read on a variety of levels. There is great nature writing; there is coming of age; and there is literature. Crawdads is a story lovingly told-one that takes its time in developing its characters and setting, and in developing the story. You'll want to relax and take your time as well, and when you're done you will want to talk about it with another reader. - Chris Schluep, Amazon Book Review

Steeped in the rhythms and shadows of the coastal marshes of North Carolina's Outer Banks, this fierce and hauntingly beautiful novel centers on...Kya's heartbreaking story of learning to trust human connections, intertwine[d] with a gripping murder mystery, revealing savage truths. An astonishing debut. - People

This lush mystery is perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver - Bustle

A nature-infused romance with a killer twist - Refinery29

Part murder-mystery, part coming-of-age novel, its evocation of the marshland and its inhabitants is as unforgettable as Kya herself. A story of loneliness, survival and love that's as engrossing as it is moving - Daily Mail

Heart-wrenching...A fresh exploration of isolation and nature from a female perspective along with a compelling love story. - Entertainment Weekly

For a debut the prose is impressively accomplished . . . A Hollywood film seems inevitable. Yet it will be hard to match on screen the delicacy of Owens's exploration of the natural world. Kya and her magical little world are a rare achievement - The Times

BookTok Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

The Cousins : TikTok made me buy it - Karen M McManus

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
One Of Us Is Lying : TV series on Stan - Now streaming - Karen M McManus
The Inheritance Games : The Inheritance Games: Book 1 - Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Ugly Love : A Novel - Colleen Hoover

RRP $22.99

$12.00

48%
OFF
We Were Liars - E. Lockhart

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.25

The Guest List - Lucy Foley

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Shatter Me : Shatter Me : Book 1 - Tahereh Mafi

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Crooked Kingdom : Six of Crows: Book 2 - Leigh Bardugo

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
They Both Die at the End : TikTok made me buy it! - Adam Silvera

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
It Happened One Summer : Tik Tok Made Me Buy It - Tessa Bailey

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Fourth Wing : The Empyrean: Book 1 - Rebecca Yarros

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Truly Devious: A Mystery : Truly Devious - Maureen Johnson

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Reese Witherspoon Book Club Picks

First Lie Wins : A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick - Ashley Elston
Yellowface : A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick - Rebecca Kuang

RRP $32.99

$16.00

52%
OFF
Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Mother-Daughter Murder Night : A Reese Witherspoon Bookclub Pick - Nina Simon
Such a Fun Age : Longlisted for the 2020 Booker Prize - Kiley Reid
Before We Were Innocent : A Reese Witherspoon Bookclub Pick - Ella Berman
The Guest List - Lucy Foley

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Island of Missing Trees : A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick - Elif Shafak
Wrong Place, Wrong Time : A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick - Gillian McAllister
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine - Gail Honeyman

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Nightingale : A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick - Kristin Hannah
The Dictionary of Lost Words : A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick - Pip Williams
The Last Mrs Parrish - Liv Constantine

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Secrets We Kept : The sensational Cold War spy thriller - Lara Prescott
Tom Lake : the luminous new novel - Ann Patchett

RRP $32.99

$24.25

26%
OFF
Seven Days in June - Tia Williams

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Lying Game - Ruth Ware

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF

Other Books By Delia Owens

Where the Crawdads Sing - Delia Owens

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Cry of the Kalahari : Language Acts and Worldm - Delia Owens

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Where the Crawdads Sing Deluxe Edition - Delia Owens
Cry of the Kalahari - Delia Owens

RRP $24.99

$23.75

Cry of the Kalahari - Mark Owens

$50.75