Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Completely Normal (and Other Lies) : CBCA Shortlisted Book - Biffy James

Completely Normal (and Other Lies)

CBCA Shortlisted Book

By: Biffy James

Paperback | 6 July 2022 | Edition Number 1

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $21.99

$19.75

10%OFF

Aims to ship in 30 to 35 business days

Love has rules. So does grief. And Stella Wilde’s about to break them all.

Stella Wilde is secretly in love with the hottest guy in school, Isaac Calder. He seems to love her back, but there’s a problem – he already has a girlfriend, the gorgeous Grace Reyes.

When Isaac is killed in a car accident, the entire school is turned upside down with grief. And while Grace can mourn publicly, Stella has to hide her feelings to stop people from finding out about her and Isaac being more than friends.

But how long can Stella keep lying – to herself and everyone else? And when the truth finally comes out, how will it affect her newfound friendship with Grace?

Shortlisted for the Ampersand Prize, Completely Normal (and other lies) is a gripping contemporary YA novel that’s as witty and sarcastic as it is tender and moving. With its insightful explorations of love, grief, mental health and friendship, it’s perfect for fans of John Green, Krystal Sutherland and Sally Rooney.

About the Author

Biffy James holds a Masters degree in Creative Writing from RMIT, and has previously worked as a boarding school house mother. She writes realistic and contemporary fiction that captures the heartbreaking and hilarious day-to-day life of the modern teenager.
Industry Reviews
‘It's a rare book that makes me feel such a kismet connection; like I was fated to need it and read it at this point in time – so tender and true, honest and heartfelt as to pierce me now as an adult, while simultaneously making me yearn for my younger teenage self to have had this book too. James is that rare talent that captures the voice, grief, messiness, and hope of youth so beautifully – perfect for fans of all ages who also love Holly Bourne, Sally Rooney, Courtney Summers and Adam Silvera.’ – Danielle Binks, author of The Monster of Her Age

‘The writing is fresh funny, smart and insightful. Themes of grief, mental health, fractured families, body image, consent and friendship are handled with honesty and sensitivity.’ – AussieKidsBooks.com

‘This debut YA novel ... is told from the perspective of Stella Wilde, an amusing, sardonic teenager who’s just starting to figure out who she is. After agreeing to go to one therapist appointment, Stella accidentally (and literally) runs into Isaac Calder, the hottest guy at school. This leads to an unexpected friendship – and more. There’s only one problem: Isaac’s girlfriend Grace, who’s gorgeous and kind and adored by everyone. Presented in James’ accessible and relatable style, the complex interplay between these characters explores tough topics, such as mental health, consent, first love and grief. Completely Normal (and Other Lies) is recommended for ages 13+.’ – Claire Atherfold, Readings

‘An authentic, sensitive story of love and grief in all types of relationships, and the power of true friendship.’ – CBCA Book of the Year: Older Readers

2023 CBCA Book of the Year Notables : Older Readers

We Who Hunt the Hollow : award-winning YA romantasy - Kate Murray
Triple Threat : CBCA Notable Book - Katy Warner

RRP $21.99

$17.80

19%
OFF
Ask No Questions - Eva Collins

RRP $25.00

$21.75

13%
OFF
Completely Normal (and Other Lies) : CBCA Shortlisted Book - Biffy James
What We All Saw - Mike Lucas

RRP $19.99

$18.25

The Other Side of Tomorrow - Hayley Lawrence

RRP $15.99

$14.95

Scorpion Falls - Martin Chatterton

RRP $18.95

$17.40

The Greatest Thing - Sarah Winifred Searle

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
The Museum of Broken Things - Lauren Draper

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Interned - Pamela Rushby

Paperback

$17.99

A Little Spark - Barry Jonsberg

RRP $17.99

$16.75

The Wearing of the Green - Claire Saxby
Slipping the Noose - Meg Caddy

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Unnecessary Drama - Nina Kenwood

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Where You Left Us - Rhiannon Wilde

RRP $19.99

$18.25

The Killing Code - Ellie Marney

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The Stand In - A J Rushby

Paperback

RRP $18.99

$17.40

Libby Lawrence is Good at Pretending - Jodi McAlister

CBCA 2023 Shortlist Older Readers

Ask No Questions - Eva Collins

RRP $25.00

$21.75

13%
OFF
Completely Normal (and Other Lies) : CBCA Shortlisted Book - Biffy James
What We All Saw - Mike Lucas

RRP $19.99

$18.25

The Other Side of Tomorrow - Hayley Lawrence

RRP $15.99

$14.95

The Greatest Thing - Sarah Winifred Searle

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF

CBCA 2023 Shortlist

Snap! - Anna Walker

Hardcover

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Wild Australian Life - Leonard Cronin

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
Paradise Sands : A Story of Enchantment - Levi Pinfold

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
Lionel and Me - Corinne Fenton

EOFY Sale

Hardcover

RRP $26.99

$15.25

43%
OFF
Xavier in the Meantime : Aster's Good, Right Things - Kate Gordon
Frank's Red Hat - Sean E Avery

RRP $25.99

$24.75

Runt - Craig Silvey

Hardcover

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Jigsaw : A Puzzle in the Post - Bob Graham

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
The Raven's Song - Bren MacDibble

RRP $17.99

$16.75

Evie and Rhino - Neridah McMullin

$18.99

August & Jones - Pip Harry

RRP $16.99

$15.80

We Are Australians - Jandamarra Cadd

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Dirt by Sea : Honour CBCA Picture Book of the Year - Michael Wagner
My Strange Shrinking Parents : 2023 CBCA Picture Book Winner - Zeno Sworder
Where the Lyrebird Lives - Vikki Conley

RRP $26.99

$22.95

15%
OFF
Our Dreaming - Kirli Saunders

Hardcover

RRP $26.99

$22.95

15%
OFF
Ask No Questions - Eva Collins

RRP $25.00

$21.75

13%
OFF
Market Day : CBCA Shortlisted Book - Carrie Gallasch

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Completely Normal (and Other Lies) : CBCA Shortlisted Book - Biffy James
Farmhouse - Sophie Blackall

Hardcover

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Tiny Wonders : 2023 CBCA Winner Award for New Illustrator - Sally Soweol Han