Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Last Of The Bonegilla Girls - Victoria Purman

The Last Of The Bonegilla Girls

By: Victoria Purman

Paperback | 26 February 2019

At a Glance

Paperback


$19.99

Expected to ship in at least 4 weeks

For readers of The Woolgrower's Companion and The Three Miss Allens...

Their friendship transcends nationality and background, but can it overcome the horrors of the past? A post-Second World War story of strong female ties and family, secrets and lies, set in the multicultural Australia of the fifties.

Can the Bonegilla girls defeat their past? Or will it come to claim them?

1954: When sixteen-year-old Hungarian Elizabeta arrives in Australia with her family, she is hoping to escape the hopelessness of life as a refugee in post-war Germany.

Her first stop is the Bonegilla Migrant Camp on the banks of the Murray in rural Victoria, a temporary home for thousands of new arrivals, all looking for work and a better life. There,

Elizabeta becomes firm friends with the feisty Greek Vasiliki; quiet Italian Iliana; and the adventurous Frances, the daughter of the camp's director.

In this vibrant and growing country, the Bonegilla girls rush together towards a life that seems full of promise, even as they cope with the legacy of war, the oppressive nature of family tradition and ever-present sorrow. So when a ghost from the past reaches out for Elizabeta and threatens to pull her back into the shadows, there is nothing that her friends wouldn't do to keep her safe.

But secrets have a way of making themselves known and lies have a way of changing everything they touch...

More in Historical Fiction

Psykhe - Kate Forsyth

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Lyrebird Lake Ladies Choir - Sandie Docker

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Hazelbourne Ladies Motorcycle and Flying Club - Helen Simonson
The Studio Girls - Lisa Ireland

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Mary I : Queen of Sorrows - Alison Weir

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Juice : The New Novel - Tim Winton

RRP $49.99

$38.75

22%
OFF
Imperial Harvest - Bruce Pascoe

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Household - Stacey Halls

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Nero - Conn Iggulden

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Hidden Storyteller : A Novel - Mandy Robotham

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Wild Date Palm - Diane Armstrong

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Sweet Blue Distance - Sara Donati

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
At the Going Down of the Sun - Mary-Anne O'Connor

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Until August : The Lost Novel - Gabriel Garcia Márquez

RRP $35.00

$28.50

19%
OFF