+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
The Last Of The Bonegilla Girls - Victoria Purman

The Last Of The Bonegilla Girls

Paperback Published: 26th February 2019
ISBN: 9781489279507
Number Of Pages: 432

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $19.99
$16.80
16%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 34 Qantas Points
on this Book

For readers of The Woolgrower's Companion and The Three Miss Allens...

Their friendship transcends nationality and background, but can it overcome the horrors of the past? A post-Second World War story of strong female ties and family, secrets and lies, set in the multicultural Australia of the fifties.

Can the Bonegilla girls defeat their past? Or will it come to claim them?

1954: When sixteen-year-old Hungarian Elizabeta arrives in Australia with her family, she is hoping to escape the hopelessness of life as a refugee in post-war Germany.

Her first stop is the Bonegilla Migrant Camp on the banks of the Murray in rural Victoria, a temporary home for thousands of new arrivals, all looking for work and a better life. There,

Elizabeta becomes firm friends with the feisty Greek Vasiliki; quiet Italian Iliana; and the adventurous Frances, the daughter of the camp's director.

In this vibrant and growing country, the Bonegilla girls rush together towards a life that seems full of promise, even as they cope with the legacy of war, the oppressive nature of family tradition and ever-present sorrow. So when a ghost from the past reaches out for Elizabeta and threatens to pull her back into the shadows, there is nothing that her friends wouldn't do to keep her safe.

But secrets have a way of making themselves known and lies have a way of changing everything they touch...

ISBN: 9781489279507
ISBN-10: 1489279504
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 432
Published: 26th February 2019
Publisher: Harlequin
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.9  x 2.8
Weight (kg): 0.29

Earn 34 Qantas Points
on this Book

This product is categorised by