Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Radio Hour : the charming and funny new novel of 2024 from bestselling author of The Nurses War, for readers of LESSONS IN CHEMISTRY and HIDDEN FIGURES - Victoria Purman

The Radio Hour

the charming and funny new novel of 2024 from bestselling author of The Nurses War, for readers of LESSONS IN CHEMISTRY and HIDDEN FIGURES

By: Victoria Purman

Paperback | 1 May 2024

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

From the bestselling author of The Nurses' War comes this charming, funny, pointed look at the golden years of radio broadcasting in post-war Australia, celebrating the extraordinary unseen women who wrote the radio plays that held a nation captive. For readers of Lessons in Chemistry.

Martha Berry is fifty years old, a spinster, and one of an army of polite and invisible women in 1956 Sydney who go to work each day and get things done without fuss, fanfare or reward.

Working at the country's national broadcaster, she's seen highly praised talent come and go over the years but when she is sent to work as a secretary on a brand-new radio serial, created to follow in the footsteps of Australia's longest running show, Blue Hills, she finds herself at the mercy of an egotistical and erratic young producer without a clue, a conservative broadcaster frightened by the word 'pregnant' and a motley cast of actors with ideas of their own about their roles in the show.

When Martha is forced to step in to rescue the serial from impending cancellation, she ends up secretly ghost-writing scripts for As The Sun Sets, creating mayhem with management, and coming up with storylines that resonate with the serial's growing and loyal audience of women listeners.

But she can't keep her secret forever and when she's threatened with exposure, Martha has to decide if she wants to remain in the shadows, or to finally step into the spotlight.

About the Author

Victoria Purman is an Australian top ten and USA Today bestselling fiction author. Her most recent book, A Woman's Work , was an Australian bestseller, as were her novels The Nurses' War, The Women's Pages, The Land Girls and The Last of the Bonegilla Girls. Her earlier novel The Three Miss Allens was a USA Today bestseller. She is a regular guest at writers festivals, a mentor and workshop presenter and was a judge in the fiction category for the 2018 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature and the 2022 ASA/HQ Commercial Fiction Prize for an unpublished manuscript.

More in Historical Fiction

Psykhe - Kate Forsyth

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Lyrebird Lake Ladies Choir - Sandie Docker

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Hazelbourne Ladies Motorcycle and Flying Club - Helen Simonson
Imperial Harvest - Bruce Pascoe

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Studio Girls - Lisa Ireland

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Juice : The New Novel - Tim Winton

RRP $49.99

$38.75

22%
OFF
Mary I : Queen of Sorrows - Alison Weir

RRP $32.99

$30.25

At the Going Down of the Sun - Mary-Anne O'Connor

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Hidden Storyteller : A Novel - Mandy Robotham

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Wild Date Palm - Diane Armstrong

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Sweet Blue Distance - Sara Donati

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Sea Captain's Wife - Jackie French

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Like Fire-Hearted Suns - Melanie Joosten

RRP $34.99

$31.75