Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Studio Girls - Lisa Ireland

The Studio Girls

By: Lisa Ireland

Paperback | 30 April 2024 | Edition Number 1

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%OFF

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
The Studio Girls is a sumptuous, nostalgic journey back to the glamorous Golden Age of cinema and the intoxicating world of Tinseltown, where nothing is quite what it seems . . .

'Fans of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo will love Lisa Ireland's cinematic new novel. Set in the Golden Age of Hollywood, The Studio Girls is opulent and scandalous, yet ultimately uplifting. Ireland's best yet!' Sally Hepworth

'A novel about love, friendship and the Golden Age of Hollywood. What more could you want? I LOVED it.' Rachael Johns

'Inspired by fascinating real-life history, The Studio Girls is a stunning tale of love, friendship and secrets, perfect for fans of Natasha Lester and Fiona Davis. Sure to be one of the biggest books of 2024!' Kelly Rimmer

'If Sex and the City was set in 1950s Hollywood, with the perfect mix of gossip, glam and scandal! But it's the moving friendships, heartbreaks and the enduring spirit of women that make this book hard to put down. ' Kerryn Mayne

It's 1955, and four talented young women become best friends while living at the Hollywood Studio Club, the famous boarding house for movie hopefuls.

Julia Newman is a rising star. As Goldstar Studios' 'new Grace Kelly', she has been sent to the club to keep her out of trouble, though Julia is just thrilled to finally make friends.

For Peggy Carmichael, Julia's roommate, life is not so easy. She takes classes, auditions constantly, and grabs whatever bit-part is offered. Still, her 'big break' remains stubbornly out of reach.

Meanwhile, Vivienne Lockhart, the most talented actress of them all, is constantly reduced to 'sexpot' roles. She'll do whatever it takes to succeed. But is she driven by ambition, or by a heartbreaking need to be loved?

Finally, there's aspiring scriptwriter Sadie Shore, who has little interest in the trappings of fame. Particularly when she becomes the PA of a big studio boss and her eyes are opened to the perils of her friends' dreams . . .


About the Author

After working for many years as a teacher (and a brief stint as a professional organiser - before Marie Kondo made it cool), Lisa Ireland is now a full-time writer. Lisa lives with her husband in a small town in Gippsland, Victoria. When not writing, she spends her days mentoring aspiring authors, drinking coffee, and playing minion to her incredibly spoiled dog, Lulu.

More in Historical Fiction

Psykhe - Kate Forsyth

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Lyrebird Lake Ladies Choir - Sandie Docker

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Hazelbourne Ladies Motorcycle and Flying Club - Helen Simonson
Mary I : Queen of Sorrows - Alison Weir

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Studio Girls - Lisa Ireland

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Juice : The New Novel - Tim Winton

RRP $49.99

$38.75

22%
OFF
Imperial Harvest - Bruce Pascoe

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
By Any Other Name - Jodi Picoult

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Beauties - Lauren Chater

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Bass Rock : Winner of the 2021 Stella Prize - Evie Wyld

RRP $22.99

$12.95

44%
OFF
The Pearl Sister : The Seven Sisters: Book 4 - Lucinda Riley

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The Quiet American : Vintage Greene - Graham Greene

RRP $14.99

$14.25

The Brisbane Line - JP Powell

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $32.99

$29.75

10%
OFF
The Missing Sister - Lucinda Riley

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Sharpe's Command : The New Sharpe Novel - Bernard Cornwell

RRP $32.99

$19.75

40%
OFF
Atlas: The Story of Pa Salt : The Seven Sisters: Book 8 - Lucinda Riley