+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Little Fires Everywhere : The New York Times Top Ten Bestseller - Celeste Ng

Little Fires Everywhere

The New York Times Top Ten Bestseller

Paperback

Published: 12th September 2017
In Stock. Ships from Australia today or next business day
RRP $29.99
$23.95
20%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 12th September 2017
Format: ePUB
$11.99

A compulsive, brilliant novel about race, identity, family and secrets for fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Zadie Smith.

'I read Little Fires Everywhere in a single, breathless sitting' Jodi Picoult

The brilliant new novel by the author of the New York Times bestseller, Everything I Never Told You.

Everyone in Shaker Heights was talking about it that summer: how Isabelle, the last of the Richardson children, had finally gone around the bend and burned the house down.

In Shaker Heights, a placid, progressive suburb of Cleveland, everything is meticulously planned - from the layout of the winding roads, to the colours of the houses, to the successful lives its residents will go on to lead. And no one embodies this spirit more than Elena Richardson, whose guiding principal is playing by the rules.

Enter Mia Warren - an enigmatic artist and single mother- who arrives in this idyllic bubble with her teenage daughter Pearl, and rents a house from the Richardsons. Soon Mia and Pearl become more than just tenants: all four Richardson children are drawn to the alluring mother-daughter pair. But Mia carries with her a mysterious past, and a disregard for the rules that threatens to upend this carefully ordered community.

When the Richardsons' friends attempt to adopt a Chinese-American baby, a custody battle erupts that dramatically divides the town and puts Mia and Mrs. Richardson on opposing sides. Suspicious of Mia and her motives, Mrs. Richardson becomes determined to uncover the secrets in Mia's past. But her obsession will come at unexpected and devastating costs to her own family - and Mia's.

Little Fires Everywhere explores the weight of long-held secrets and the ferocious pull of motherhood-and the danger of believing that planning and following the rules can avert disaster, or heartbreak.

About the Author

Celeste Ng grew up in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and Shaker Heights, Ohio. She attended Harvard University and earned an MFA from the University of Michigan. Her debut novel, Everything I Never Told You, won the Hopwood Award, the Massachusetts Book Award, the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature, and the American Library Association's Alex Award. She is a 2016 National Endowment for the Arts Fellow, and she lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Celeste Ng has a rare talent for taking readers into the hearts and minds of her characters. - Herald Sun

An absorbing story of complex relationships - Weekend West

Ng has a genuine gift for capturing family dynamics, whether it be a mother's spiky, protective love for her child, or the intense bond between siblings. The perceptive writing creates some fascinating and unsettling interactions between characters, and makes for a highly satisfying read. - Sunday Times Perth

ISBN: 9781408709726
ISBN-10: 1408709724
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 400
Published: 12th September 2017
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.7  x 2.7
Weight (kg): 0.46
Edition Number: 1