Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
How to be Good : Penguin Street Art - Nick Hornby

How to be Good

By: Nick Hornby

Paperback | 26 March 2014 | Edition Number 1

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

How to be Good is Nick Hornby's hilarious bestselling novel on life, love and charity 'I am in a car park in Leeds when I tell my husband I don't want to be married to him any more. . . ' London GP Katie Carr always thought she was a good person. With her husband David making a living as 'The Angriest Man in Holloway', she figured she could put up with anything. Until, that is, David meets DJ Goodnews and becomes a good person too. A far-too-good person who starts committing crimes of charity like taking in the homeless and giving their kids' toys away. Suddenly Katie's feeling very bad about herself, and thinking that if charity begins at home, then maybe its time to move. . . This laugh-out-loud novel, from the bestselling author of About a Boy and High Fidelity, will have you gripped from start to finish and will appeal to fans of David Nicholls and Jonathan Coe, as well as readers in need of a moral compass everywhere. 'Pins you in your armchair ad won't let go . . . How to be Good? How to be bloody marvellous, more like' Mail on Sunday 'It does exactly what it says on the cover. Hornby's prose is artful and effortless, his spiky wit as razored as a number-two cut' Independent 'The writing is so funny, and the set-pieces so brilliant...Hornby's best book since Fever Pitch' Lynn Truss, The Times
Industry Reviews
Hilarious, sophisticated, compulsive . . . a bitingly clever novel of ideas, on a subject almost nobody else has written about - how would a totally good person get on in the modern world? * Sunday Times *
A dark espresso-length comedy that nobody else could have written * New Statesman *
The writing is so funny and the set-pieces so brilliant * The Times *
Perhaps the most poised piece of writing Hornby has yet produced . . . only this writer has the wit and the stringency to take on this easy comedy and draw compelling, even universal pathos from it * Observer *
Brilliantly funny * Heat *
Pins you in your armchair and won't let go . . . How to be Good? How to be bloody marvellous more like * Mail on Sunday *
It does exactly what it says on the cover. Hornby's prose is artful and effortless, his spiky wit as razored as a number-two cut * Independent *
Vintage Nick Hornby. Very funny and very clever, and packed with wit and brilliance * Spectator *