Add free shipping to your order with these great books
About a Boy : Tie-in Ser. - Nick Hornby

About a Boy

By: Nick Hornby

Paperback | 4 April 2002 | Edition Number 1

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

THE MILLION COPY NO. 1 BESTSELLER THAT BECAMEAN ACCLAIMED FILM STARRING HUGH GRANT AND NICOLAS HOULT

'A very entertaining and endearing read'
The Times
___________________

Thirty-six-year-old Londoner Will loves his life. Living carefree off the royalties of his dad's Christmas song, he's rich, unattached and has zero responsibilities - just the way he likes it.

But when Will meets Marcus, an awkward twelve-year-old who listens to Joni Mitchell and accidentally kills ducks with loaves of bread, an unlikely friendship starts to bloom.

Can this odd duo teach each another how to finally act their age?

Hugely funny and equally heartfelt, Nick Hornby's classic proves you're never too old to grow up. Perfect for fans of David Nicholls and Mike Gayle.
___________________

'A stunner of a novel. Utterly read-in-one-day, forget-where-you-are-on-the-tube-gripping' Marie Claire

'About the awful, hilarious, embarrassing places where children and adults meet, and Hornby has captured it with delightful precision' Irish Times

'It takes a writer with real talent to make this work, and Hornby has it - in buckets' Literary Review

Industry Reviews
Hornby displays his knack of turning a superficially slight tale into something more meaningful. About a Boy is actually about two boys: Will Freeman, 36 years old going on 18, leads a hedonistic lifestyle, funded by a Christmas hit written by his father in the 1930s; and Marcus is a confused 12-year-old, brought to London by his depressed bohemian mother. The two find each other when the childless Will, testing out a new way of meeting women, joins SPAT, a single parents group. Marcus has a lot of problems - a suicidal mother, an uncool haircut, and he doesn't know who Kurt Cobain is. Because he's different, he is bullied at school and Will, who understands these things, is able to help the mature but introverted Marcus come out of himself and learn to enjoy being a boy. Hornby writes movingly about the major and minor problems of living a decent, humane life in 1990s Britain. (Kirkus UK)