Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Crushing : The funny and relatable new novel and next TikTok sensation from the author of NO HARD FEELINGS, for fans of Coco Mellors, Monica Heisey and Diana Reid - Genevieve Novak

Crushing

The funny and relatable new novel and next TikTok sensation from the author of NO HARD FEELINGS, for fans of Coco Mellors, Monica Heisey and Diana Reid

By: Genevieve Novak

Paperback | 5 April 2023

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

When do you stop starting over? The sparkling new novel from the author of No Hard Feelings.

Getting over someone is not that difficult. All you have to do is focus on every negative thing about them for the rest of your life until you forget to stop actively hoping for their slow and painful death, then get a haircut ...

Serial monogamist Marnie is running late to her own identity crisis. After a decade of twisting herself into different versions of the ideal girlfriend, she's swearing off relationships for good. Forever. Done. No more, no thank you.

Pretty inconvenient time to meet Isaac: certified dreamboat and the only man who has ever truly got her. It's cool, though, they're just friends, he's got someone else, and she has more important things to worry about. Like who she is, what she wants, and what the hell she ever saw in the love(s) of her life in the first place.

Flanked by overwhelmed new mum Nicola, terminally single Claud, and eternal pessimist Kit, Marnie reckons with the question: who are we when we're on our own?

About the Author

Genevieve Novak is a writer from Melbourne. She writes character-led romantic comedies, pop culture columns for The Age, digital content, and stilted author biographies. She loves croissants and her dog, Viktor. She hates being called Gen. Her debut novel, No Hard Feelings , was published by HarperCollins in 2021. Crushing is her second novel.
Industry Reviews
'Crushing stings with truth and aches with hope. I loved it.' - Jessica Dettmann

'A sharp, funny and biting exploration of a classic millennial existential crisis ... with some genuine laugh-out-loud moments' - Books+Publishing

'A sexy, complex, bittersweet dark chocolate souffle of a book: airily paced, tartly funny, and with a romantic centre that's just gooey enough' - Clare Fletcher

'Bingeable, sharply written, and hilarious, Crushing had me hooked from the first page. This book is filled with love, rage, and wisdom, and reading it felt like having a wine with a best friend.' - Victoria Brookman, author of Burnt Out

Praise for No Hard Feelings:

'Funny, biting, vulnerable and unflinching, Novak's novel is like an ocean dip: a bit salty, very refreshing' - Lauren Sams

'No Hard Feelings is clever, funny and surprisingly sweet, and Penny captured my heart' - Toni Jordan

'Wry and witty' - Saturday Age

More in Modern & Contemporary Fiction

My Favourite Mistake - Marian Keyes

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Caledonian Road - Andrew O'Hagan

RRP $34.99

$31.75

I Hope This Finds You Well - Natalie Sue

RRP $34.99

$33.25

The Lyrebird Lake Ladies Choir - Sandie Docker

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Parade - Rachel Cusk

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Hurdy Gurdy - Jenny Ackland

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Little Clothes - Deborah Callaghan

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Call It What You Want : A Novel - Alissa DeRogatis

RRP $24.99

$23.75

Shadows of Winter Robins - Louise Wolhuter

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Love from Scratch - Amy Hutton

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Lies and Weddings - Kevin Kwan

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Studio Girls - Lisa Ireland

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Enlightenment : From the Author of The Essex Serpent - Sarah Perry
Ghost Cities - Siang Lu

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

It Had to Be You : An Under Suspicion Novel - Mary Higgins Clark
The Last Devil To Die : The Thursday Murder Club 4 - Richard Osman