Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Seven Skins of Esther Wilding : The bestselling uplifting emotional novel from the beloved international author of The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart - Holly Ringland

The Seven Skins of Esther Wilding

The bestselling uplifting emotional novel from the beloved international author of The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart

By: Holly Ringland

Paperback | 4 October 2023

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%OFF

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
The bestselling novel from the author of The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart, a haunting and magical novel about joy, grief, courage, and transformation.

'On the afternoon that Esther Wilding drove homeward along the coast, a year after her sister had walked into the sea and disappeared, the light was painfully golden.'

The last time Esther Wilding's beloved older sister Aura was seen, she was walking along the shore towards the sea. In the wake of Aura's disappearance, Esther's family struggles to live with their loss. To seek the truth about her sister's death, Esther reluctantly travels from Lutruwita, Tasmania to Copenhagen, and then to the Faroe Islands, following the trail of the stories Aura left behind: seven fairy tales about selkies, swans and women, alongside cryptic verses Aura wrote and had secretly tattooed on her body.

The Seven Skins of Esther Wilding is a sweeping, deeply beautiful and profoundly moving novel about the far-reaches of sisterly love, the power of wearing your heart on your skin, and the ways life can transform when we find the courage to feel the fullness of both grief and joy.

About the Author

Holly Ringland is the author of the international bestseller The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart, which has been translated into thirty languages and adapted into a global seven-part TV series starring Sigourney Weaver and produced by Amazon Prime Video and Made Up Stories. In 2019, The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart won the Australian Book Industry Award General Fiction Book of the Year. In 2021, Holly co-hosted an eight-episode ABC TV series, Back to Nature, with Aaron Pedersen. After living between Australia and the UK for ten years, Holly has been based in the Yugambeh region of southeast Queensland since 2020, where she wrote The Seven Skins of Esther Wilding in her 'office', a vintage caravan named Frenchie. Upon publication, The Seven Skins of Esther Wilding became an instant national bestseller, and it was named 2022 Book of the Year by Booktopia.
Industry Reviews
'Vivid and soaring ... The Seven Skins of Esther Wilding is a haunting story of trauma and redemption that is nonetheless compelling and accessible. It's a great recommendation for fans of Vanessa Diffenbaugh's The Language of Flowers or Elizabeth Gilbert's The Signature of All Things, as well as Ringland's debut The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart' - Books+Publishing

'Like the best books, The Seven Skins of Esther Wilding is ultimately a story about love. Ringland is a virtuoso of fairytale storytelling for adults.' - Sydney Morning Herald

'A mythological journey as much as an unfolding mystery, full of symbols ... a magical, witchy, quirky, luminous book, full of the natural world, the night sky and the ever-changing water around the islands on which it is set.' - The Australian

'This intercontinental journey into joy, grief, nature and magic confirms Holly Ringland as one of Australia's most precious, life-changing storytellers.' - Booktopia

'Fans of Holly Ringland's beautiful first novel, The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart , will fall equally in love with her second.' - The West Australian

'Myths and legends are the touchstone to truth in this epic journey through love, loss, courage and kinship. But The Seven Skins of Esther Wilding is also an elegant and mesmerising tribute to the places that hold our stories, heart and memories. Holly Ringland writes with such tenderness, wit and imagination about all these things that it's impossible to come away from this magical story unchanged' - Sally Piper, author of Bone Memories

'Another spell is cast by Holly Ringland. I was swept away by this triumphant and luminous story' - Myfanwy Jones, Miles Franklin Literary Award shortlisted author for Leap

'Nobody writes about the pain of being alive more deftly than Holly Ringland. She brings such empathy to the topics of grief, love, family conflict and loss. Some of her sentences took my breath away, and I found myself madly flicking pages, days later, to find them again for safekeeping. Astonishing in its scope, detail and sensitivity, The Seven Skins of Esther Wilding is tender, magical, epic, funny and devastating. This is a very special writer at her best' - Kate Leaver, author of The Friendship Cure

Other Editions and Formats

Audio CD

Published: 30th September 2022

MP3 CD

Published: 30th September 2022

50 Must Read Australian Novels

Boy Swallows Universe - Trent Dalton

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Picnic at Hanging Rock - Joan Lindsay

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Too Much Lip : Winner of the Miles Franklin Award - Melissa Lucashenko

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
My Brother Jack : A &R Australian Classics - George Johnston

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
March - Geraldine Brooks

Paperback

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The Boat : 1st Edition - Nam Le

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Obernewtyn : Obernewtyn Chronicles: Book 1 - Isobelle Carmody

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Slap : 1st Edition - Christos Tsiolkas

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Rosie Project : Don Tillman : Book 1 - Graeme Simsion

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Mullumbimby - Melissa Lucashenko

Paperback

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
The Dry - Jane Harper

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
True History of the Kelly Gang - Peter Carey

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Cloudstreet : Penguin Australian Classics - Tim Winton

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
We of the Never-Never : Vintage Classics - Aenaes Gunn

RRP $14.99

$14.25

All That I Am : Winner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award 2012 - Anna Funder
Thorn Birds - Colleen McCullough

Paperback

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The Book Thief - Markus Zusak

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Terra Nullius - Claire G. Coleman

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Monkey Grip - Helen Garner

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.25

The Yield : Winner of the 2020 Miles Franklin Award - Tara June Winch
The Narrow Road to the Deep North - Richard Flanagan

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Jasper Jones - Craig Silvey

Paperback

RRP $23.99

$20.95

13%
OFF

Popular Searches