Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Swifts : The New York Times Bestselling Mystery Adventure - Beth Lincoln

The Swifts

The New York Times Bestselling Mystery Adventure

By: Beth Lincoln, Claire Powell  (Illustrator)

Paperback | 3 January 2024 | Edition Number 1

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

A hilarious mystery adventure perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Lemony Snicket.

On the day they are born, each Swift is brought before the sacred Family Dictionary. They are given a name and a definition, and it is assumed they will grow up to match. Unfortunately, Shenanigan Swift has other ideas.

So what if her relatives all think she's destined to turn out as a troublemaker, just because of her name? Shenanigan knows she can be whatever she wants - pirate, explorer or even detective.

Which is lucky, really, because when one of the Family tries to murder Arch-Aunt Schadenfreude, someone has to work out whodunit.

With the help of her sisters and cousin, Shenanigan grudgingly takes on the case, but more murders, a hidden treasure and an awful lot of suspects make thing seriously complicated.

Can Shenanigan catch the killer before the whole household is picked off? And in a Family where definitions are so important, can she learn to define herself?

About the Author

Beth Lincoln was raised in a former Victorian railway station in the North of England. Her childhood fears included porcelain dolls, the Durham panther, and wardrobes that looked at her funny. She grew neither tall nor wise, and never learned to play an instrument - but she did write stories, a bad habit that has persisted to this day. When she isn't writing, Beth is woodcarving, or making a mess of her flat, or talking the nearest ear off about unexplained occurrences. Her favourite things include ghosts, crisps, and weird old words like bumbershoot and zounderkite. She lives in Newcastle upon Tyne with her partner and hopefully, by the time you are reading this, a dog.

About the Illustrator

Claire Powell is a bestselling children's book illustrator who got her first book deal in 2016 and has never looked back. After spending many years in London, Claire now enjoys a quieter life in the rolling hills of Derbyshire with her partner Stefan (who may not agree that living with Claire is quiet).

More in Crime & Mystery Fiction for Children & Teenagers

Hearts That Cut - Kika Hatzopoulou

RRP $19.99

$18.95

The Grandest Game - Jennifer Lynn Barnes

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
The Bad Ones - Melissa Albert

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Eleanor Jones Can't Keep a Secret - Amy Doak

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Friday Barnes 10 : Undercover - R.A. Spratt

RRP $16.99

$16.25

Such Charming Liars - Karen M. McManus

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
Detective Beans and the Case of the Missing Hat - Li Chen
Eleanor Jones is Not a Murderer - Amy Doak

RRP $19.99

$18.95

The Brothers Hawthorne : The Inheritance Games - Jennifer Lynn Barnes

RRP $27.99

$15.75

44%
OFF
Nannie Loves - Kylie Dunstan

Paperback

$16.99

The Fall - Tristan Bancks

Paperback

RRP $17.99

$16.75

His Name Was Walter - Emily Rodda

$17.99

When the War Came Home - Lesley Parr

RRP $16.99

$9.75

43%
OFF
The First Summer of Callie McGee - A. L. Tait

RRP $15.99

$15.25

Trash - Andy Mulligan

Paperback

RRP $17.99

$16.75

Two Can Keep a Secret : TikTok made me buy it - Karen M. McManus
The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time - Mark Haddon
Cat on the Run: Cat of Death! Episode 1 - Aaron Blabey