+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Subtle Sound : The Zen Teachings of Maurine Stuart - Sherry Chayat

Subtle Sound

The Zen Teachings of Maurine Stuart

Paperback Published: 19th November 1996
ISBN: 9781570620942
Number Of Pages: 210

Share This Book:


Ships in 15 business days

Earn 59 Qantas Points
on this Book

Maurine Stuart (1922–1990) was one of a select group of students on the leading edge of Buddhism in America: a woman who became a Zen master. In this book, she draws on down-to-earth Zen stories, her friendships with Japanese Zen teachers, and her experiences as a concert pianist to apply the inner meanings of Buddhism to practicing the basic ethics of daily living—nowness, unselfishness, compassion, and good will toward every living being. She emphasizes that inner growth comes through our own efforts and intuition, especially as we cultivate them through meditation practice. We can then take what we have learned in meditation and use it to respond to our daily lives in a straightforward and creative way, guided not by concepts or dogma, but by direct insight into the reality of the present moment.

Industry Reviews

"Stuart's teachings retain their powerfully resonant Buddhist ferocity in the face of mortality and destruction, but her teachings transform Zen for an American context by pointing to ways that the lessons of Zen can be practiced in our everyday lives. . . . refreshing and nourishing."--Publishers Weekly

"Maurine Stuart-roshi was much like these wonderful teachings: intelligent, clear, and crisp as a tart apple, yet profoundly compassionate, with that hard-earned simplicity which springs from the turmoil of examined life through unsparing reflection and devotion."--Peter Matthiessen

The Illusion of "I"p. 1
Ordinary Mindp. 8
Nothing Extraneousp. 12
There Are No Repetitionsp. 16
Giving It Awayp. 21
Our One and Only Commandmentp. 27
Breathing In, Breathing Outp. 32
Close Attentionp. 41
Depending on Nothingp. 44
The Circumstance Is the Teachingp. 48
Building a Templep. 52
Taking It Homep. 56
The Taste of Zenp. 62
Sesshin Mind, Universal Mindp. 67
Peace of Mindp. 72
No Big Dealp. 77
Daily Life Practice Is the Wayp. 82
Asking Whyp. 86
Who Is the Real You?p. 92
The Naked Truthp. 95
Our Own Lightp. 101
Time Unfoldsp. 107
Listening to the Mindp. 114
True Seeingp. 118
One Actp. 123
Not Yetp. 129
Forgetting Everythingp. 133
The Most Intimate Connectionp. 139
The Last Wordp. 143
Glossaryp. 147
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9781570620942
ISBN-10: 1570620946
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 210
Published: 19th November 1996
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 21.5 x 14.0  x 1.6
Weight (kg): 0.28
Edition Number: 1

Earn 59 Qantas Points
on this Book