Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Salt to the Sea : Winner of the 2017 Carnegie Medal - Ruta Sepetys
Best of #BookTok

Salt to the Sea

Winner of the 2017 Carnegie Medal

By: Ruta Sepetys

Paperback | 16 May 2016 | Edition Number 1

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $19.99

$18.25

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
Booktopia Comments

This book is featured in our Refugees and Displaced People page, a collection of the best books to understand the courage and plight of forced migration, including books for children of stories and issues

Please visit to see more.
Product Description
It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories.

Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed.

This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey , brilliantly imagines their story.

About the Author

Ruta Sepetys is the author of acclaimed YA novel, Between Shades of Grey. Born and raised in Michigan in a family of Lithuanian descent, Ruta now lives with her husband in Tennessee. Ruta was a highly successful promoter of classical music concerts, booking and touring with orchestras worldwide, before turning to writing full-time. In 2015 Ruta has been awarded The Rockefeller Foundation's prestigious Bellagio Center writing residency, where she will interact with other leading international artists, writers and thinkers.
Industry Reviews
"Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In Salt to the Sea, the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimate storytelling, as her warm and human characters breathe new life into one of the world's most terrible and neglected tragedies." -- Elizabeth Wein

"A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying-and little-known-moment in World War II history." -- Steve Sheinkin

Refugees & Displaced People: Books for Young Readers

My Two Blankets : English and Dari edition - Irena Kobald

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Waves - Donna Rawlins

Hardcover

RRP $27.99

$25.95

Girl Underground - Morris Gleitzman

EOFY Sale

RRP $16.99

$10.75

37%
OFF
Illegal - Eoin Colfer

EOFY Sale

Paperback

RRP $24.99

$14.35

43%
OFF
Refugees - David Miller

Paperback

RRP $16.99

$15.80

Salt to the Sea : Winner of the 2017 Carnegie Medal - Ruta Sepetys
Ziba Came on a Boat - Liz Lofthouse

RRP $16.99

$15.80

When Stars are Scattered - Victoria Jamieson

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Journey - Francesca Sanna

Hardcover

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
A Long Walk to Water - Linda Sue Park

EOFY Sale

$13.50

Detention - Tristan Bancks

Paperback

RRP $17.99

$16.75

Out - Angela May George

Paperback

RRP $15.99

$14.95

Boy Overboard - Morris Gleitzman

Paperback

RRP $16.99

$15.80

Refugee - Alan Gratz

Paperback

RRP $17.99

$16.75

Mahtab's Story - Libby Gleeson

RRP $17.99

$16.75

All Are Welcome - Alexandra Penfold

RRP $14.99

$14.25

Refuge : Many Dreams, One Land - Jackie French

RRP $17.99

$16.75

Home and Away : Lothian Australian Favourites - John Marsden
The Bone Sparrow - Zana Fraillon

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Migrants - Issa Watanabe

Hardcover

RRP $26.99

$22.95

15%
OFF
The Arrival - Shaun Tan

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.25

BookTok Books to Make You Cry

Ugly Love : A Novel - Colleen Hoover

RRP $22.99

$18.90

18%
OFF
It Ends With Us : The emotional #1 Sunday Times bestseller - Colleen Hoover
The Fault in Our Stars - John Green

RRP $19.99

$18.25

All Your Perfects - Colleen Hoover

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
All the Light We Cannot See - Anthony Doerr

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Salt to the Sea : Winner of the 2017 Carnegie Medal - Ruta Sepetys
We Were Liars - E. Lockhart

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Archer's Voice - Mia Sheridan

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
They Both Die at the End : TikTok made me buy it! - Adam Silvera

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
The Nightingale : A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick - Kristin Hannah
Love and Other Words - Christina Lauren

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
One True Loves - Taylor Jenkins Reid

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Crying in H Mart - Michelle Zauner

RRP $19.99

$18.25

If We Were Villains - M.L. Rio

RRP $19.99

$18.25

A Little Life : Tik Tok made me buy it! - Hanya Yanagihara

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
The Kite Runner - Khaled Hosseini

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
A Thousand Splendid Suns - Khaled Hosseini

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
The Book Thief - Markus Zusak

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
If He Had Been with Me - Laura Nowlin

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Reminders of Him : A Novel - Colleen Hoover

RRP $24.99

$24.75