Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Mateship With Birds : Shortlisted for the 2013 Miles Franklin Literary Award - Carrie Tiffany
Stella Prize Winner

Mateship With Birds

Shortlisted for the 2013 Miles Franklin Literary Award

By: Carrie Tiffany

Paperback | 1 February 2012 | Edition Number 1

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

WINNER OF THE STELLA PRIZE 2013 "clever, original and richly rewarding" Australian Bookseller & Publisher "it might just be the sweetest book about sex you will ever read" Sydney Morning Herald On the outskirts of an Australian country town in the 1950s, a lonely farmer trains his binoculars on a family of kookaburras that roost in a tree near his house. Harry observes the kookaburras through a year of feast, famine, birth, death, war, romance and song. As Harry watches the birds, his next door neighbour has her own set of binoculars trained on him. Ardent, hard-working Betty has escaped to the country with her two fatherless children. Betty is pleased that her son, Michael, wants to spend time with the gentle farmer next door. But when Harry decides to teach Michael about the opposite sex, perilous boundaries are crossed. Mateship with Birds is a novel about young lust and mature love. It is a hymn to the rhythm of country life - to vicious birds, virginal cows, adored dogs and ill-used sheep. On one small farm in a vast, ancient landscape, a collection of misfits question the nature of what a family can be. Shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award 2013 Winner of the NSW Premier's Literary Awards' Christina Stead Prize 2013 Finalist of the Melbourne Prize for Literature for Best Writing Award 2012 Shortlisted for the VIC Premier's Literary Awards' Prize for Fiction 2013 and Prime Minister's Literary Awards' Prize for Fiction 2013 Longlisted for Nita B Kibble Literary Awards for Women Writers' Kibble Literary Award 2013

The Miles Franklin Award 2013 Longlist

Street to Street - Brian Castro

RRP $24.95



Stella Prize Winners

The Bass Rock : Winner of the 2021 Stella Prize - Evie Wyld

RRP $22.99


The Jaguar : Winner of the 2023 Stella Prize - Sarah Holland-Batt
The Erratics : Winner of the 2019 Stella Prize - Vicki Laveau-Harvie
Dropbear : Winner of the 2022 Stella Prize - Evelyn Araluen

RRP $24.99


Tracker : Winner of the 2018 Stella Prize - Alexis Wright

RRP $39.95


The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka : The Stella Prize 2014 Winner - Clare Wright