Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Jaguar : Winner of the 2023 Stella Prize - Sarah Holland-Batt
2023 Stella Prize

The Jaguar

Winner of the 2023 Stella Prize

By: Sarah Holland-Batt

Paperback | 3 May 2022

At a Glance
This Product Is Also Featured In:


RRP $24.99



Aims to ship in 7 to 10 business days

A stunning new collection from one of Australia's finest poets - her most impressive work yet.

With electrifying boldness and fearlessness of vision, Sarah Holland-Batt confronts what it means to be mortal in an astonishing and deeply humane portrait of a father's Parkinson's Disease, and a daughter forged by grief.

Opening and closing with startling elegies set in the charged moments before and after a death, and compulsively probing the body's animal endurance and appetites, along with the metamorphoses of long illness, The Jaguar is marked by Holland-Batt's distinctive lyric intensity and linguistic mastery, along with a stark new clarity of voice.

In this collection Holland-Batt is at her most exacting and uncompromising- these ferociously intelligent, insistent poems refuse to look away, and challenge us to view ruthless witness as a form of love. The Jaguar is a devastating and mesmerising collection by a poet at the height of her powers.

About the Author

Sarah Holland-Batt is the author of The Hazards (UQP, 2015) and Aria (UQP, 2008), which won the Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize, the Arts ACT Judith Wright Award, and the FAW Anne Elder Award and was shortlisted in both the New South Wales and Queensland Premiers' Literary Awards.

She is presently a Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing at the Queensland University of Technology and the poetry editor of Island.

Stella Prize Winners

The Bass Rock : Winner of the 2021 Stella Prize - Evie Wyld

RRP $22.99


The Erratics : Winner of the 2019 Stella Prize - Vicki Laveau-Harvie

RRP $27.99


Dropbear : Winner of the 2022 Stella Prize - Evelyn Araluen

RRP $24.99


The Jaguar : Winner of the 2023 Stella Prize - Sarah Holland-Batt

RRP $24.99


The Museum of Modern Love : Winner of the 2017 Stella Prize - Heather Rose
Tracker : Winner of the 2018 Stella Prize - Alexis Wright

RRP $39.95


The Forgotten Rebels of Eureka : The Stella Prize 2014 Winner - Clare Wright
The Natural Way of Things : Winner of the 2016 Stella Prize - Charlotte Wood
The Strays : Winner of the 2015 Stella Prize - Emily Bitto

Popular Searches