Hedgewitch : Book 1 - Skye McKenna

Hedgewitch

Book 1

By: Skye McKenna, Tomislav Tomic (Illustrator)

Hardcover | 12 April 2022 | Edition Number 1

At a Glance

Hardcover


RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%OFF

Aims to ship in 15 to 18 business days

When Cassie runs away from her dreary boarding school, in search of her missing mother, she ends up in the magical village of Hedgely and discovers she comes from a family of witches - women who protect Britain from the denizens of Faerie, who are all too real and far more frightening than the story books suggest.

First in a magical five-book series for readers of Nevermoor, The Worst Witch and The Dark Is Rising.

It has been seven years since Cassie Morgan last saw her mother. Left at a dreary boarding school, she spends her days hiding from the school bully and reading forbidden story books about the world of Faerie.

Certain that her mother is still alive, Cassie is determined to find her, whatever the dangers, and runs away from school. Lost and alone, she is chased by a pack of goblins but, to her surprise, escapes with the help of a flying broom and a talking cat named Montague, who takes her to the cosy village of Hedgely.

Here she discovers that she comes from a family of witches, women who protect Britain from the denizens of Faerie, who are all too real and far more frightening than her story books suggest.

About the Author

Skye McKenna grew up in the iron ore mining town of Newman in the Australian outback. Surrounded by the red dust of the Great Sandy Desert, she developed a healthy respect for wild things and wild places at a young age. Longing for adventures of her own, she travelled to England and fell in love with the British countryside. Skye now works in heritage and recently curated the Magic & Mystery exhibition for Barley Hall, York, introducing visitors to real and legendary wizards and alchemists and developing activities for school children and families visiting the exhibition.
Industry Reviews
'Magical in every sense of the word
So magical that I suspect Skye McKenna might actually be a fairy.
A breath of fresh air through the magic kingdoms.
A wonderful, lush quest to an exciting new world.'
- Eoin Colfer, author of the Artemis Fowl series.

'There are only two sorts of fantasy story: the ones that feel fake and the ones that feel real. It's hard to explain the difference, but you know the real ones when you read them, and Hedgewitch is one of them.' - Philip Reeve, author of the Mortal Engines series.

'A richly inventive story' - Gillian Cross


'So full of magic and adventure - I wish I'd written it myself!' - Linda Chapman

'Oozes magic from every page. The start of a cosy, compelling series for anyone who's ever wanted to be a witch.' - Aisha Bushby

2023 CBCA Book of the Year Notables : Younger Readers

Evie and Rhino - Neridah McMullin

$18.99

No Words - Maryam Master

Paperback

RRP $16.99

$15.80

The Raven's Song - Bren MacDibble

RRP $17.99

$16.75

Waiting for the Storks - Katrina Nannestad

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Book of Wondrous Possibilities - Deborah Abela

RRP $16.99

$15.80

We Run Tomorrow - Nat Amoore

RRP $16.99

$15.80

The Bravest Word - Kate Foster

$18.99

Xavier in the Meantime : Aster's Good, Right Things - Kate Gordon
The Sugarcane Kids and the Red-bottomed Boat - Charlie Archbold
Zadie Ma and the Dog Who Chased the Moon - Gabrielle Wang
Big Magic : CBCA Notable Book - Sarah Armstrong

RRP $19.99

$18.25

August & Jones - Pip Harry

RRP $16.99

$15.80

What About Thao? - Oliver Phommavanh

RRP $16.99

$14.50

15%
OFF
Hedgewitch : Book 1 - Skye McKenna

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
The Jammer : CBCA Notable Book 2023 - Nova Weetman

RRP $16.99

$15.80

The Last Light Horse - Dianne Wolfer

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
What Snail Knows : CBCA Notable Book 2023 - Kathryn Apel
Mikki and Me and the Out-of-Tune Tree - Marion Roberts

Popular Searches