Add free shipping to your order with these great books
A Man Called Ove - Fredrik Backman

A Man Called Ove

By: Fredrik Backman

Paperback | 12 May 2015 | Edition Number 1

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $19.99

$18.25

Aims to ship in 15 to 18 business days

The million-copy bestselling phenomenon, Fredrik Backman's heartwarming debut is a funny, moving, uplifting tale of love and community that will leave you with a spring in your step. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project and David Nicholl's US.

New York Times bestseller

'Warm, funny, and almost unbearably moving' Daily Mail

'Rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it' Spectator Books of the Year

At first sight, Ove is almost certainly the grumpiest man you will ever meet. He thinks himself surrounded by idiots - neighbours who can't reverse a trailer properly, joggers, shop assistants who talk in code, and the perpetrators of the vicious coup d'etat that ousted him as Chairman of the Residents' Association. He will persist in making his daily inspection rounds of the local streets.

But isn't it rare, these days, to find such old-fashioned clarity of belief and deed? Such unswerving conviction about what the world should be, and a lifelong dedication to making it just so?

In the end, you will see, there is something about Ove that is quite irresistible...
Industry Reviews
Delightful... there's a bit of Ove in all of us - which makes it the perfect holiday read. - Evening Standard

A MAN CALLED OVE finally rescued all those men who constantly mean to read novels but never get round to it. Crotchety old git Ove argues with neighbours, reluctantly inherits a cat, punches a clown and, by the end of the book, has you wanting to hug him. - Spectator BOOKS OF THE YEAR

It's warm, funny, with the laughs based on a solid grasp of character; and ultimately almost unbearably moving. - Daily Mail

A MAN CALLED OVE is a wonderful novel that will stay with you . . . Ove's story has an underlying sadness which the author tackles with great warmth and humour . . . It's a bittersweet, heartwarming tale which will leave listeners with a restored faith in the power of friendship and perhaps even a love for cats. - Psychologies Magazine

The most charming book you'll read this year. - Kirkus

A warm and tender story about love, loss and second chances, peppered with memorable characters, wonderful set pieces and some beautifully black humour. Ove is a joy from start to finish. - Gavin Extence, author of The Universe versus Alex Woods

"Ove will upset us, cause us to be upset on his behalf and make us laugh till we daren't drink fluids and read simultaneously but by the end we're uplifted and don't want to go." - Bookbag

An uplifting, life-affirming and often comic tale of how kindness, love and happiness can be found in the most unlikely places. - Sunday Express

Our 'trust us, you'll love them' collection

The God of Small Things : Winner of the 1997 Man Booker Prize - Arundhati Roy
The Remains of the Day : Winner of the Man Booker Prize 1989 - Kazuo Ishiguro
The Night Circus : Vintage Magic - Erin Morgenstern

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
One Day - David Nicholls

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
All the Light We Cannot See - Anthony Doerr

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Slap : 1st Edition - Christos Tsiolkas

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Atonement : Vintage War - Ian McEwan

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Olive Kitteridge : Winner of the 2009 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction - Elizabeth Strout
Wolf Hall : Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2009 - Hilary Mantel

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The Rosie Project : Don Tillman : Book 1 - Graeme Simsion

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
All That I Am : Winner of the Miles Franklin Literary Award 2012 - Anna Funder
The Poisonwood Bible - Barbara Kingsolver

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Interpreter of Maladies - Jhumpa Lahiri

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Cloudstreet : Penguin Australian Classics - Tim Winton

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The White Tiger : Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2008 - Aravind Adiga
The Secret History : Popular Penguins - Donna Tartt

RRP $14.99

$14.25

American Gods - Neil Gaiman

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Kafka On The Shore : Vintage Magic - Haruki Murakami

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Jasper Jones - Craig Silvey

Paperback

RRP $23.99

$20.95

13%
OFF
The Bell Jar - Sylvia Plath

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
A Man Called Ove - Fredrik Backman

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Shameless Book Club

Other Books By Fredrik Backman

Us Against You - Fredrik Backman

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises - Fredrik Backman
A Man Called Ove - Fredrik Backman

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Beartown : A Novel - Fredrik Backman

$31.50

A Man Called Ove : Now a major film starring Tom Hanks - Fredrik Backman
A Man Called Ove : A novel - Fredrik Backman
Beartown : A Novel - Fredrik Backman

$47.75

The Deal Of  A Lifetime - Fredrik Backman

RRP $19.99

$18.25

A Man Called Ove - Fredrik Backman

$31.50

Britt-Marie Was Here - Fredrik Backman

$31.50

Anxious People - Fredrik Backman

$49.25

Us Against You : Beartown - Fredrik Backman

$32.50