Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Wurrtoo : The Wombat Who Fell in Love with the Sky - Tylissa Elisara

Wurrtoo

The Wombat Who Fell in Love with the Sky

By: Tylissa Elisara, Dylan Finney (Illustrator)

Hardcover | 27 March 2024 | Edition Number 1

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

Described as an Indigenous Blinky Bill meets Winnie the Pooh, this heartwarming and beautifully illustrated middle-grade novel from 2021 black&write! fellow Tylissa Elisara follows Wurrtoo the wombat on his quest to marry the love of his life, the sky, while facing his fears and learning the importance of friendship along the way.

It all began in a burrow. The fifty-fifth burrow of Bushland Avenue to be exact. If you were ever lucky enough to find this beautiful clearing on Kangaroo Island where the arching gum trees kiss, you'd know that Wurrtoo's home is the one at the end with the big red trapdoor and large gold doorknob. Can you see it?

Wurrtoo the wombat lives a quiet and solitary life in his burrow on Kangaroo Island, hoping to one day travel to the mainland and marry the love of his life, the sky. When Wurrtoo inadvertently saves Kuula the koala from a bushfire, he acquires the adventure companion he didn't know he needed.

With Kuula by his side, Wurrtoo leaves the safety of his burrow and sets out on an epic journey to cross the island, reach the mainland and climb to the top of tallest tree in the Forest of Dreaming. But it's fire season, and danger and strange creatures lurk behind every gum tree. To make it, the pair must face their fears together, learn the importance of friendship and discover the power of wombat wishes.

Tylissa Elisara draws on classic children's literature in the tradition of Winnie the Pooh and Blinky Bill as well as stories from her own Narungga, Kaurna and Adnyamathanha heritage in this unique middle-grade novel about friendship, adventure and facing your fears.

About the Author

Tylissa Elisara is a children's social worker who lives and works in Meanjin (Brisbane) with her husband and children. She descends from the Narungga, Kaurna and Adnyamathanha people of South Australia and was born and raised on Mamu Country in Innisfail, Queensland - a heritage, alongside her Irish ancestry, that she proudly regards as a long legacy of storytelling. Tylissa is studying a Master of Writing, Editing and Publishing at the University of Queensland. Wurrtoo is her first novel.

More in Action & Adventure Stories for Children & Teenagers

Billy And The Epic Escape - Jamie Oliver

RRP $14.99

$14.25

Protectors : Wylah the Koorie Warrior 3 - Jordan Gould

RRP $15.99

$15.25

Ambush at Sorato : The Royal Ranger: Book 7 - John Flanagan

SIGNED COPY

Willa and Woof 7 : Camp Chaos - Jacqueline Harvey

RRP $12.99

$12.35

Hearts That Cut - Kika Hatzopoulou

RRP $19.99

$18.95

The Grandest Game - Jennifer Lynn Barnes

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
Burning Crowns : Twin Crowns : Book 3 - Katherine Webber

RRP $19.99

$18.95

The Bad Ones - Melissa Albert

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Eleanor Jones Can't Keep a Secret - Amy Doak

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Percy Jackson and the Olympians : Wrath of the Triple Goddess - Rick Riordan
The Assassin's Blade : Throne of Glass Novellas - Sarah J. Maas
Into the Wild : Wolf Girl: Book 1 - Anh Do
Friday Barnes 10 : Undercover - R.A. Spratt

RRP $16.99

$16.25

House of Hollow : CBCA's Notable Older Reader's Book 2022 - Krystal Sutherland
Sally Ride (Little People, Big Dreams) - Alona Millgram

EOFY Sale

RRP $19.99

$11.75

41%
OFF
Anzac Ted : 10th Anniversary Edition - Belinda Landsberry

RRP $29.99

$27.90