Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Uprooted - Naomi Novak

Uprooted

By: Naomi Novak

Paperback | 1 June 2015

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows - everyone knows - that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn't, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her. But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose.

From the author of the Temeraire series comes this hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales. It is perfect reading for fans of Robin Hobb and Trudi Canavan.

About the Author

Naomi Novik is the acclaimed author of the Temeraire series. She has been nominated for the Hugo Award and has won the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, as well as the Locus Award for Best New Writer and the Compton Crook Award for Best First Novel. She is also the author of the graphic novel Will Supervillains Be on the Final? Fascinated with both history and legends, Novik is a first-generation American raised on Polish fairy tales and stories of Baba Yaga.

Her own adventures include pillaging degrees in English literature and computer science from various ivory towers, designing computer games, and helping to build the Archive of Our Own for fanfiction and other fanworks. Novik is a co-founder of the Organization for Transformative Works. She lives in New York City with husband and Hard Case Crime founder Charles Ardai and their daughter, Evidence, surrounded by an excessive number of purring computers.
Industry Reviews
Uprooted has everything I love: a great heroine, new takes on old myths and legends, and surprising twists and turns. A delight.
CASSANDRA CLARE

The magic in Uprooted, with its realistic moral dimension, is so vividly believable that it almost seems you could work the spells. But the book will do that for you.
URSULA K. LE GUIN

Wild, thrilling, and deeply, darkly magical. An instant classic.
LEV GROSSMAN

Uprooted has everything I love: a great heroine, new takes on old myths and legends, and surprising twists and turns. A delight.
CASSANDRA CLARE

Uprooted by Naomi Novik is enchanting, in every sense of that fine old word. A charming and inviting story that looks unflinchingly at the strangling roots of hurt and revenge.
ROBIN HOBB

I didn't know how much I wanted to read a book like this until it was already in my hands. Uprooted has everything I love about Novik's writing style, with the added bonus of some old world magic and the flavor of a dark faerie story.
PATRICK ROTHFUSS

Magical and practical, otherworldly and planted in the real, I could NOT stop reading this book and neither will you!
TAMORA PIERCE

Naomi Novik's Uprooted is a marvelous fantasy reminiscent of Howl's Moving Castle and vastly superior to The Hobbit. Her characters, setting, and the magic they use are all brilliant. I devoured the book in one reading. Well done! I want more!
TODD MCCAFFREY

The roots of Uprooted are planted deep in fairy tale lore, but the story that Naomi Novik has coaxed forth is fresh and compelling. It reads like a previously undiscovered origin myth in the best possible way!
JACQUELINE CAREY

Uprooted is one of those tales you come back to over and over again because it's just that enchanting. The adventure builds with such tension that you are peeking through your hands at the end, hoping it will all be okay, and Novik delivers a conclusion that's deeply satisfying, earning a permanent space on my bookshelf that I'll revisit often.
KEVIN HEARN

Every so often you come upon a story that seems like a lost tale of Grimm newly come to light. Uprooted is such a novel. Its narrative spell is confidently wrought and sympathetically cast. I might even call it bewitching.
GREGORY MAGUIRE

Reading Uprooted was like rediscovering a favorite old sweater, familiar and beloved. It feels as if it has always existed and has been waiting patiently for me to return to it.
MAGGIE STIEFVATER

The most darkly compelling fantasy I've read in ages, Uprooted is overflowing with profound dread and real beauty, and boasts a heroine who blazes with spirit and originality. Not to be missed!
CHRISTOPHER GOLDEN

More in Fantasy Fiction for Children & Teenagers

Ambush at Sorato : The Royal Ranger: Book 7 - John Flanagan

SIGNED COPY

Liar's Test : The Silverleaf Chronicles - Ambelin Kwaymullina

RRP $24.99

$23.75

LightWorkers - Anna Sarelas

Paperback

RRP $27.95

$26.75

All This Twisted Glory : This Woven Kingdom - Tahereh Mafi
Deep Is the Fen - Lili Wilkinson

RRP $24.99

$23.75

Destroy the Day : Defy the Night - Brigid Kemmerer

RRP $17.99

$17.25

Princess of Souls - Alexandra Christo

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Murtagh : The World of Eragon - Christopher Paolini

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban : MinaLima Edition - J.K. Rowling
His Name Was Walter - Emily Rodda

RRP $17.99

$17.25

A Mind Full of Murder : Skulduggery Pleasant : Book 16 - Derek Landy
The Tea Dragon Society : The Tea Dragon Society: Book 1 - K. O'Neill
The House at the End of the Sea - Victoria M. Adams

RRP $17.99

$17.25

Kaldoras : The Medoran Chronicles Epilogue - Lynette Noni
The Hobbit - J R R Tolkien

Paperback

RRP $17.99

$17.25

Into the Mouth of the Wolf - Erin Gough

SIGNED COPY

RRP $22.99

$21.90

Tea Dragon Tapestry : The Tea Dragon Society: Book 3 - K. O'Neill