Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Twitch : The Twitchers - M. G. Leonard

Twitch

By: M. G. Leonard

eBook | 3 June 2021

At a Glance

eBook


RRP $18.99

$15.99

16%OFF

Instant Digital Delivery to your Booktopia Reader App

>> WINNER OF THE SAINSBURYS CHILDREN'S BOOK AWARDS 2021
>> WINNER OF THE CRIMEFEST AWARD FOR BEST CRIME NOVEL FOR CHILDREN 2021
>> "A twist-laden, thriller-like tale" Observer
>> "Simply genius." BBC Wildlife

From the internationally bestselling author of Beetle Boy and the Adventures on Trains series, comes the first book in The Twitchers, a thrilling mystery adventure series celebrating friendship, bravery and the incredible world of birds, starring a birdwatching detective called Twitch!

Can a birdwatcher outwit an escaped convict?

Twitch has three pet chickens, four pigeons, swallows nesting in his bedroom and a passion for birdwatching. On the first day of the summer holidays, he arrives at his secret hide to find police everywhere: a convicted robber has broken out of prison and is hiding in Aves Wood. Can Twitch use his talents for birdwatching to hunt for the dangerous prisoner and find the missing loot?

Twitch is a thrilling summer mystery adventure perfect for readers 9+ and for fans of Robin Stevens, Lauren St John and Jenny Pearson. It can be enjoyed as a stand-alone adventure or read as part of The Twitchers series.

Praise for Twitch:

"Leonard knows her audience and the jeopardy comes in flocks ... Find your nest, curl up and enjoy." The Times, Children's Book of the Week

"A twist-laden, thriller-like tale of a bird-mad boy, some bullies and an escaped convict hiding in the nearby woods."Observer

"A twisty crime drama as well as a persuasive story about friendship and nature." The Sunday Times

"Twitch is a good old-fashioned adventure story that feels like a modern-day Secret Seven." BBC Wildlife Magazine

"[A] pacy mystery adventure featuring a birdwatching detective hot on the heels of a dangerous escaped prisoner." iNewspaper

"Leonard has crafted an intelligent mystery from unlikely material, with bonus bird facts." Irish Times

"A winged masterpiece." Maz Evans

"Enthralling from beginning to end, it really touched my young bird-loving heart! Just wonderful!" Dara McAnulty

"Birds, mystery and fowl play! What more could you want?" Gill Lewis

"Glorious! Full of excitement and wonder!" Sophie Anderson

"A brave and thrilling new adventure from one of my favourite writers. I honestly didn't put the book down until the very last, exciting, page-turn and I'm twitching for the next adventure!" Jasbinder Bilan

"Twitch is an absolute triumph. The perfect blend of mystery and adventure, a winning hero with an eye for ornithological facts and a heart as big as the countryside, plus a cracking whipsmart plot, I think this is M. G. Leonard's best book yet." Christopher Edge

"Cracking characters, beyond pacy plotting and an ending that is almost Bugsy Malone-esque!" Phil Earle

"Twitch is a compelling read - an adventure mystery with birds - what more could any reader want?!" Stephen Moss

"Adventure, friendship and the pure unassuming beauty of nature ... a book that could have been a collaboration between David Attenborough and Roald Dahl." Dr Jess French

"A superb adventure of friendship, bravery and the wonderful world of birds, with a strong, but non-preachy theme of the benefits of connection with the natural world." The Bookseller

"One of those really, really good books ... Recommended for readers around 8 to 12 years old, and grown-ups like me who still enjoy the delight of a great adventure story!" The Bookbag

on

More in Crime & Mystery Fiction for Children & Teenagers

The London Deception : The Hardy Boys - Franklin W. Dixon

eBOOK

Pure Sin : Privilege - Kate Brian

eBOOK

RRP $24.19

$19.99

17%
OFF
Pony Problems : Nancy Drew and the Clue Crew - Carolyn Keene

eBOOK

The Landry News - Andrew Clements

eBOOK

RRP $14.29

$11.99

16%
OFF
Sanctuary : 1-800-Where-R-You - Meg Cabot

eBOOK

RRP $14.29

$11.99

16%
OFF
Do Not Pass Go : A Novel - Kirkpatrick Hill

eBOOK

RRP $14.29

$11.99

16%
OFF
Curse of the Arctic Star : Nancy Drew Diaries - Carolyn Keene

eBOOK

Sabotage Surrender : Sabotage Mystery Book Three - Carolyn Keene

eBOOK

House of Whispers : Fear Street Saga - R. L. Stine

eBOOK

RRP $24.19

$19.99

17%
OFF
Feeding Frenzy : Undercover Brothers Book 20) - Franklin W. Dixon

eBOOK

The First Horror : 99 Fear Street - R. L. Stine

eBOOK

RRP $14.29

$11.99

16%
OFF
Forbidden Secrets : Fear Street Saga - R. L. Stine

eBOOK

RRP $24.19

$19.99

17%
OFF
Haunted : Hardy Boys Super Mysteries - Franklin W. Dixon

eBOOK

RRP $13.19

$10.99

17%
OFF
The Second Horror : 99 Fear Street - R. L. Stine

eBOOK

RRP $24.19

$19.99

17%
OFF
Killer Instinct : The Killer Instinct Novels - S. E. Green

eBOOK

Bad Moonlight : Fear Street Superchillers - R. L. Stine

eBOOK

RRP $24.19

$19.99

17%
OFF
Dance of Death : Fear Street Saga - R. L. Stine

eBOOK

RRP $24.19

$19.99

17%
OFF
The Sign of Fear : Fear Street Saga - R. L. Stine

eBOOK

RRP $24.19

$19.99

17%
OFF