Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Promise : WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE 2021 - Damon Galgut

The Promise


By: Damon Galgut

Paperback | 12 April 2022

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

Masterful new fiction from twice Booker-shortlisted author Damon Galgut


A masterpiece of a family in crisis from twice Booker-shortlisted author Damon Galgut

'Astonishing' Colm T ibin

'A literary masterpiece' Sarah Hall

The Promise charts the crash and burn of a white South African family, living on a farm outside Pretoria. The Swarts are gathering for Ma's funeral. The younger generation, Anton and Amor, detest everything the family stand for -- not least the failed promise to the Black woman who has worked for them her whole life. After years of service, Salome was promised her own house, her own land... yet somehow, as each decade passes, that promise remains unfulfilled.

The narrator's eye shifts and blinks- moving fluidly between characters, flying into their dreams; deliciously lethal in its observation. And as the country moves from old deep divisions to its new so-called fairer society, the lost promise of more than just one family hovers behind the novel's title.

In this story of a diminished family, sharp and tender emotional truths hit home. Confident, deft and quietly powerful, The Promise is literary fiction at its finest.

'Gorgeous and pleasurable' Tessa Hadley

'The most important book of the last ten years'
Edmund White

'Simply- you must read it'
Claire Messud

About the Author

Damon Galgut is the author of nine novels. He won the Booker Prize 2021 for The Promise, having been shortlisted for the prize twice before (The Good Doctor and In A Strange Room). He lives and works in Cape Town.

About the Author

Damon Galgut was born in Pretoria in 1963. He wrote his first novel, A Sinless Season, when he was seventeen. His other books include Small Circle of Beings, The Beautiful Screaming of Pigs, The Quarry and The Good Doctor.

The Good Doctor was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, the International IMPAC Dublin Award and the Commonwealth Writers Prize. In a Strange Room was also shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. Damon Galgut lives in Cape Town.

Booker Prize Winners

Girl, Woman, Other : WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE 2019 - Bernardine Evaristo
Wolf Hall : Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2009 - Hilary Mantel
Life Of Pi : CANONS - Yann Martel

RRP $24.99


True History of the Kelly Gang - Peter Carey

RRP $22.99


The Paying Guests - Sarah Waters

RRP $22.99


2021 Booker Prize Longlist

Second Place - Rachel Cusk


RRP $32.99