Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Outback Court Reporter : The new book from bestselling author and ABC journalist for readers of I CATCH KILLERS, MY MOTHER A SERIAL KILLER and LARRIMAH - Jamelle Wells

The Outback Court Reporter

The new book from bestselling author and ABC journalist for readers of I CATCH KILLERS, MY MOTHER A SERIAL KILLER and LARRIMAH

By: Jamelle Wells

Paperback | 14 February 2024

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $34.99

$31.75

or 4 interest-free payments of $7.94 with

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
One of Australia's most experienced court reporters goes on a judicial road trip.

Outback Court Reporter is a sometimes funny, sometimes tragic look at the comings and goings on inside the country courtrooms dotted across Australia.

From the case of the stolen cat flap, to missing lollipops and exploding chocolate milk in a country supermarket, to a custody dispute over a camel - Jamelle has seen the lighter and quirky side of outback courts but has also witnessed the harsh, dark, and petty side of outback life - including the high rates of Indigenous incarceration, alcohol-related and domestic violence.

After spending almost twenty years in city courtrooms reporting for the ABC on some of the country's highest profile cases, in Outback Court Reporter, Jamelle Wells takes you into our country courtrooms, from the grand sandstone edifices of Cobar and Grafton to the repurposed community halls and police stations in outback Queensland the Northern Territory - introducing you to the court staff - the solicitors, prosecutors, magistrates, witnesses and the accused, in cases that shock, captivate and divide communities.

Outback Court Reporter is also a timely reminder of the need for reform as country magistrates struggle with massive caseloads and limited resources, the fall-out of failing regional health system and limited bail and sentencing options in a justice system that is under pressure and communities still disadvantaged by the vastness of our continent.

About the Author

Jamelle Wells is an ABC television and radio Newsreader and the Senior Court Reporter for New South Wales. Over almost two decades she has covered some of Australia's highest profile cases including the criminal trials of schoolteacher Chris Dawson, the inquiries into the convictions of Kathleen Folbigg for killing her four children, the criminal trials of former Labor Ministers Eddie Obeid and Ian Macdonald, the murder trials Keli Lane and Gordon Wood, Australia's longest running terrorism trial, the Sydney Siege inquest, and inquest into the disappearance of William Tyrrell. Jamelle is a television and radio commentator on courts and legal affairs for programs including Australian Story for ABC Television.

Jamelle's first ABC book about her career covering city courts, The Court Reporter (2018) was longlisted for the prestigious Ned Kelly Australian Crime Writing Award and the Davitt Australian Women Writers Award.
Industry Reviews
'Jamelle Wells has put justice in the dock. The Court Reporter raises important questions about the administration of the criminal justice system, not only in NSW but nationwide.' - Michael Sexton, The Australian

'Frank reporting.' - Steven Carroll, The Sydney Morning Herald

'Vivid and gripping. I had to read it in one go.' - Richard Glover, ABC Drive

' The Court Reporter is a great read and will be quickly devoured by anyone with an interest in journalism and true crime.' - Dr Rachel Franks, Academia Review

'A brilliant book with amazing stories.' - Sarah Harris, Studio Ten

More in True Crime

Operation Biting - Max Hastings

RRP $37.99

$33.90

11%
OFF
American Mother - Colum McCann

RRP $34.99

$24.25

31%
OFF
My Mother's Eyes - Shanelle Dawson

RRP $34.99

$18.95

46%
OFF
The Man Who Wasn't There - Dan Box

RRP $36.99

$19.75

47%
OFF
Day One - Abigail Dean

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

We All Go Into The Dark - Francisco Garcia

RRP $36.99

$33.25

10%
OFF
Naked City - John Silvester

EOFY Sale

Paperback

RRP $36.99

$19.75

47%
OFF
The Schoolgirl, Her Teacher and his Wife - Rebecca Hazel

RRP $36.99

$29.75

20%
OFF
The Tall Man : Death and Life on Palm Island - Chloe Hooper

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Seventy Times Seven : A True Story of Murder and Mercy - Alex Mar