+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
The Missing Man : From the outback to Tarakan, the powerful story of Len Waters, the RAAF's only WWII Aboriginal fighter pilot - Peter Rees

The Missing Man

From the outback to Tarakan, the powerful story of Len Waters, the RAAF's only WWII Aboriginal fighter pilot

Paperback Published: 27th June 2018
ISBN: 9781760296414
Number Of Pages: 360

Other Formats

Share This Book:


RRP $32.99
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 52 Qantas Points
on this Book

He was our first Aboriginal fighter pilot, he flew multiple sorties during Australia's World War II Pacific campaign, and he should have had a world of opportunity ahead of him at the war's end, but Len Walters became the missing man in the country's wartime flying history.

Len Waters was the first and only Aboriginal to serve as a fighter pilot during World War II. Although Australia had officially barred or restricted the recruitment of Aborigines in earlier periods (out of fear that they might side with the enemy), these impediments were significantly relaxed after Japan entered World War II, and Australia came under direct attack for the first time. Although he had not completed his schooling, Len volunteered for service in the RAAF and was accepted.

When he was posted to New Guinea as a pilot, the Kittyhawk he was allocated had by chance been nicknamed by its previous pilot 'Black Magic' and those words were painted on its nose. Len found the name of his plane an amusing coincidence and chose to retain it. He flew 95 sorties in it.

After the war, Len attempted to join the burgeoning Australian commercial airline industry without luck. He never flew a plane again. He wrote later that, having taken off his uniform, he simply 'returned to being a blackfellow'. What happened to him afterwards is simply heartbreaking.

About the Author

Peter Rees is the author of The Boy from Boree Creek (2001), Tim Fischer's Outback Heroes (2002), Killing Juanita (2004), which was a winner of the 2004 Ned Kelly Award for Australian crime writing, The Other Anzacs (2008) republished as Anzac Girls (2014), Desert Boys (2011), Lancaster Men (2013) and Bearing Witness (2015), which won the Anzac Centenary Literary Prize in 2015. He lives in Canberra.

ISBN: 9781760296414
ISBN-10: 1760296414
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 360
Published: 27th June 2018
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.3
Weight (kg): 0.51

Earn 52 Qantas Points
on this Book