+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Lost Man - Jane Harper

Paperback Published: 23rd October 2018
ISBN: 9781743549100
Number Of Pages: 384

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $32.99
$23.95
27%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Other Available Editions (Hide)

Three brothers, one death, a fenceline stretching to the horizon.

Two brothers meet at the border of their vast cattle properties under the unrelenting sun of outback Queensland.

They are at the stockman's grave, a landmark so old, no one can remember who is buried there. But today, the scant shadow it casts was the last hope for their middle brother, Cameron.

The Bright family's quiet existence is thrown into grief and anguish.

Something had been troubling Cam. Did he lose hope and walk to his death? Because if he didn't, the isolation of the outback leaves few suspects...

For readers who loved The Dry and Force of Nature, Jane Harper has once again created a powerful story of suspense, set against a dazzling landscape.

Staff Review by Sarah McDuling

Like many people, I was utterly blown away by Jane Harper’s astonishing first novel, The Dry. And then, still riding the enormous success of her debut, she smashed it out of the park again with her second novel, Force of Nature

Publishing two bestselling and award-winning novels in two years is quite an impressive feat. Now, with the impending release of her third novel, The Lost Man, I think the question everyone is asking is … can Jane Harper do it again?

You guys. She has totally done it again!

The Lost Man rocketed past all my high expectations and set a whole new standard that will be very difficult to beat. When I first heard that this book would not feature Aaron Falk as a main character – I’ll admit I had some misgivings. I love Aaron Falk. Everyone loves Aaron Falk. I should have known better than to doubt the genius of Jane Harper. Despite how much I loved her previous two novels, I am stunned to admit I think The Lost Man may well be the best thing she has ever written!

This incredibly gripping and intense novel begins with one of the most cinematic opening chapters I have read in ages … probably since the opening of The Dry. Set in outback Queensland, once again Jane Harper brings the Australian landscape vividly to life. Every page of The Lost Man is drenched in atmosphere. The harsh, unforgiving terrain is depicted almost like a character in it’s own right, with a vital role to play.

Harper draws readers into a strange alien landscape, a wasteland scorched beneath an unrelenting sun – an eerie, godforsaken place where “rivers flooded without rain and seashells fossilised a thousand miles from water and men who left their cars found themselves walking to their deaths.”

If you enjoyed Jane Harper’s previous books and felt any concern when you heard that her new book wouldn’t feature Aaron Falk … fear not! For one thing, I predict many readers will come to the end of The Lost Man feeling as I did – that this is Jane Harper’s best novel yet! For another, if you are an observant reader you may spot a subtle shout out to The Dry hidden within the pages of The Lost Man – a little easter egg for the fans to find, if they are paying close attention.

Touching on a lot of dark themes, including domestic violence and rape, The Lost Man is a story about family and secrets. It’s a story about pain and violence and how it can echo through generations – about how untold suffering will eventually find a way to be heard. It’s also a complex and utterly enthralling mystery that asks a burning question…

What happened to Cameron Bright?

WRITE A REVIEW

Good Service

5

Really great book. I am always impressed with the prompt service I get from Booktopia even when the book is backordered.

Toowoomba

true

The Lost Man - a good read

4

The suspense is built from the very first page. Each chapter introduces another piece of the puzzle and in comparing my opinion with others I have not found one person who picked the actual final outcome.

Sydney

true

Jane Harper has done it again!

5

I have loved Jane Harper's previous books - particularly "The Dry". "The Lost Man" is just as good if not better. Jane manages to bring you into the world of the outback so that you can almost feel the shimmering heat from the pages. The story moves slowly but remains engaging and even though her characters are flawed, you still want to like them.

Sydney

true

Read between the lines

4

The impressive thing about Jane Harper is that she writes a completely different book each time, and yet is able to harness all the elements that made The Dry so compelling. The ability to convey so much about landscape and character with a concise writing style is a gift. It took a while to warm to the story, but I really loved it.

Melbourne

true

Brilliant once again!

5

Jane Harper has once again produced a fantastic book that I couldn't put down. Can not wait for the next one.

NSW

true

A powerful story of suspense

4

Jane Harper draws you into the mystery of the death on anoutback station in Queensland from the opening pages of the book. Each character has a hidden secret or an inner demon to face none moreso that Nathan who has become a recluse, trapped in his own shame. Through the events surrounding his brothers death he finds redemption and freedom to live once more. Cameron, the deceased, has controlled the lives of everyone by his charm and manipulation. Nobody would stand up to him until one day he is caught out and brought to account for his actions. Who is it? How was it achieved?... enjoy the read.

Adelaide, South Australia

true

Fantastic

5

Bought this book for my daughter who is a fan of Jane Harper, couldn't put it down. Thought is was fantastic, had to put it down one night because it was so late and apparently a bit scary. Might have to borrow it and read it myself.

Perth

true

Great read!

4

I always go to Booktopia to book buy, this book is a great read.

Brisbane

true

Jane Harper does it again!

5

Jane Harper writes knowingly and fascinatingly about the Australian outback and those who live there! This is her third such book; all 3 are superb!

Toowong, Brisbane

true

Australian landscape hauntingly portrayed

4

A brilliant portrayal of life in isolated outback Australia and its impact on families, marriages and children. Literally could not put it down. Harper is impressive once again but actually excels. This is my favourite so far and I totally loved The Dry.

Melbourne

true

The Lost Man

4.4 18

94.4

ISBN: 9781743549100
ISBN-10: 1743549105
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 384
Published: 23rd October 2018
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 23.3 x 15.3  x 2.8
Weight (kg): 0.48

Jane Harper


About the Author


Jane Harper was born in Manchester in the UK, and moved to Australia with her family at age eight.

She spent six years in Boronia, Victoria, and during that time gained Australian citizenship.

Returning to the UK with her family as a teenager, she lived in Hampshire before studying English and History at the University of Kent in Canterbury.

On graduating, she completed a journalism entry qualification and got her first reporting job as a trainee on the Darlington & Stockton Times in County Durham.

Jane worked for several years as a senior news journalist for the Hull Daily Mail, before moving back to Australia in 2008.

She worked first on the Geelong Advertiser, and in 2011 took up a role with the Herald Sun in Melbourne.

In 2014, Jane submitted a short story which was one of 12 chosen for the Big Issue's annual Fiction Edition.

That inspired her to pursue creative writing more seriously, and that year she applied for the Curtis Brown Creative online 12-week novel writing course.

She was accepted with a submission for the book that would become The Dry.

Jane lives in St Kilda with her husband and daughter.

Visit Jane Harper's Booktopia Author Page


Read More