+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
The Existentialist Reader : An Anthology of Key Texts - Paul S. MacDonald

The Existentialist Reader

An Anthology of Key Texts

By: Paul S. MacDonald (Editor)

Hardcover Published: 28th February 2001
ISBN: 9780415936705
Number Of Pages: 352

Share This Book:


RRP $443.99
or 4 easy payments of $76.88 with Learn more
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 615 Qantas Points
on this Book

"The Existentialist Reader" is a comprehensive anthology of classic philosophical writings from eight key existentialist thinkers: Sartre, Camus, Heidegger, de Beauvoir, Jaspers, Marcel, Merleau-Ponty, and Ortega y Gasset. These substantial and carefully selected readings consider the distinctive concerns of existentialism: absurdity, anxiety, alienation, death. A comprehensive introduction by Paul S. MacDonald illuminates the existentialist quest for individual freedom and authentic human experience with insight into the historical and intellectual background of these major figures. "The Existentialist Reader" is a valuable guide to the provocative theories that shook the philosophical world in the 1930s and continue to profoundly shape the way we think about ourselves.

Introduction: background and themesp. 1
'Philosophizing Starts with Our Situation' (1932)p. 53
'On the Ontological Mystery' (1933)p. 86
'History as a System' (1935)p. 114
'An Absurd Reasoning' (1942)p. 151
'Reflections on the Cartesian Cogito' (1945)p. 191
'Letter on Humanism' (1947)p. 236
'Ambiguity and Freedom' (1947)p. 277
'A New, Authentic Way of Being Oneself' (1948)p. 302
Indexp. 343
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780415936705
ISBN-10: 0415936705
Audience: Tertiary; University or College
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 352
Published: 28th February 2001
Publisher: Taylor & Francis Ltd
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 24.13 x 17.15  x 1.91
Weight (kg): 0.83
Edition Number: 1

Earn 615 Qantas Points
on this Book