Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Daughters Of Mars - Tom Keneally

The Daughters Of Mars

By: Tom Keneally

Paperback | 19 March 2018 | Edition Number 1

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $22.99

$18.35

20%OFF

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
In the tradition of Atonement and Birdsong, the Durance sisters leave Australia to nurse on the front during WWI and discover a world beyond their imaginings.

Shortlisted for the Colin Roderick Prize.

Naomi and Sally Durance are daughters of a dairy farmer from the Macleay Valley. Bound together in complicity by what they consider a crime, when the Great War begins in 1914 they hope to submerge their guilt by leaving for Europe to nurse the tides of young wounded.

They head for the Dardanelles on the hospital ship Archimedes. Their education in medicine, valour and human degradation continues on the Greek island of Lemnos, then on the Western Front. Here, new outrages - gas, shell-shock - present themselves.

Naomi encounters the wonderful, eccentric Lady Tarlton, who is founding a voluntary hospital near Boulogne; Sally serves in a casualty clearing station close to the front. They meet the men with whom they would wish to spend the rest of their lives.

Inspired by the journals of Australian nurses who gave their all to the Great War effort and the men they nursed. The Daughters of Mars is vast in scope yet extraordinarily intimate. A stunning tour de force to join the best First World War literature, and one that casts a penetrating light on the lives of obscure but strong women caught in the great mill of history.

You Can Find This Book In

Other Books By Thomas Keneally

Fanatic Heart : The Booker Winner Legend of Australian Literature - Tom Keneally
The Daughters Of Mars - Tom Keneally

RRP $22.99

$18.35

20%
OFF
Schindler's Ark : Winner of the 1982 Man Booker Prize - Thomas Keneally
The Power Game : Monsarrat: Book 3 - Tom Keneally

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
The Unmourned : Monsarrat: Book 2 - Tom Keneally

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
The Soldier's Curse : Monsarrat: Book 1 - Tom Keneally

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Flying Hero Class - Thomas Keneally

$27.75

Victim of the Aurora - Thomas Keneally

$27.75

Woman of the Inner Sea - Thomas Keneally

$27.75

Towards Asmara - Thomas Keneally

RRP $24.99

$22.75

Three Famines - Tom Keneally

Paperback

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
By the Line - Thomas Keneally

Paperback

$26.25

Two Old Men Dying - Tom Keneally

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Australians : A short history - Thomas Keneally

RRP $39.99

$31.75

21%
OFF
A Bloody Good Rant : My passions, memories and demons - Thomas Keneally
The Ink Stain : Monsarrat: Book 4 - Tom Keneally

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
A Dutiful Daughter : Text Classics - Thomas Keneally

RRP $12.95

$12.50

A Bloody Good Rant : My passions, memories and demons - Thomas Keneally
The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith : A &R Australian Classics - Thomas Keneally
Confederates - Thomas Keneally

Paperback

RRP $22.99

$22.95

Blood Red, Sister Rose - Thomas Keneally

$29.80

Bettany's Book - Tom Keneally

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The Playmaker - Thomas Keneally

Paperback

$26.25

This product is categorised by