+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Tempests and Slaughter : The Numair Chronicles: Book One - Tamora Pierce

Tempests and Slaughter

The Numair Chronicles: Book One

Paperback

Published: 13th February 2018
For Ages: 11+ years old
In Stock. Ships from Australia today or next business day
RRP $19.99
$16.75
16%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 13th February 2018
For Ages: 11 - 18 years old
Format: ePUB
$11.99

Other Available Formats (Hide)

Bestselling author Tamora Pierce crafts a richly realised world in the highly anticipated first installment of The Numair Chronicles - a gripping fantasy series for young adults.

Three student mages, bound by fate . . . Fated for danger

Arram Draper is on the path to becoming one of the realm's most powerful mages. The youngest student in his class at the Imperial University of Carthak, he has a Gift with unlimited potential for greatness - and for attracting trouble. At his side are his two best friends: Varice, a clever girl with an often-overlooked talent, and Ozorne, the 'leftover prince' with secret ambitions.

Together, these three friends forge a bond that will one day shape kingdoms. But as Ozorne gets closer to the throne and Varice gets closer to Arram's heart, Arram realizes that soon he will have to decide where his loyalties truly lie.

Review by Sarah McDuling

Bear with me for a moment while I rave obsessively…

Tamora Pierce was one of my favourite authors when I was growing up and she remains one of my favourite authors to this day. I grew up idolising the heroines of her books and owe so much of my reading taste (and love of books in general) to her writing. She always brings a unique brand of magic to her stories – the characters she creates somehow always feel like friends and the world of Tortall feels like home. Though many authors have been influenced by her and cite her as an inspiration, there’s really no-one else like her. She’s an untouchable queen of all that is awesome!

I’m a huge fan, is what I’m saying.

I was excited about Tempests and Slaughter as soon as I heard about it, purely because it’s Tamora Pierce and until the day I depart this world I am always going to be excited whenever Tamora Pierce releases a new book. This particular book, however, is extra exciting because it happens to be an origin story detailing the early years of Arram Draper (AKA Numair Salamin).

Fans of Tamora Pierce will be delighted by the idea of a Numair prequel, but the beauty of this book is that it will hold just as much appeal for people who have never read a Tamora Pierce book in their lives (poor souls). You don’t need to be familiar with the character to be captivated by this spellbinding tale of a young boy training to master his extraordinary gift and become the realm’s most powerful mage. Admittedly, there is a lot dramatic irony at play for those who have read The Immortals Quartet. The growing friendship between Arram, Varice and Ozorne is going to read very differently for people who know what happens to them later in life. And yet I still believe this is a book that will enchant fans and newcomers alike because that’s the magic of Tamora Pierce!

This is an author who knows precisely how to lure readers into another world and then deep dive into character development so subtle and graceful that you will be ready to sell your soul to protect the main character by the end of the first chapter. I didn’t think I could love Numair any more that I already did when I picked up Tempests and Slaughter but I was wrong. My love for Arram (or “my precious baby Numair” as I like to think of him) knows no bounds.

This book is great. This book is perfect and wonderful. This book is the first in a new series (thank God there will be more!) and I really cannot recommend it highly enough.

This is the ideal read for fans of Garth Nix, Isobelle Carmody, Diana Wynne Jones, Patricia C. Wrede Leigh Bardugo, Rae Carson, Laini Taylor, Robin McKinley, Juliet Marillier, and this is rapidly turning into a list of my favourite authors. Just trust me and buy this book and all the books by every above-mentioned author. I promise you won’t regret it!

About the Author

Tamora Pierce is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of over eighteen novels set in the fantasy realm of Tortall. She is the winner of the Romantic Times Book Reviews Career Achievement Award, the Skylark Edward E. Smith Memorial Award for Imaginative Fiction, and the Margaret A. Edwards Award for her 'significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature'.Pierce lives in Syracuse, New York, with her husband, Tim, and their cats, birds, and occasional rescued wildlife.

Tamora Pierce's writing is like water from the swiftest, most refreshingly clear, invigorating and revitalizing river. I return to her books time and time again. - Garth Nix

I take more comfort from and as great a pleasure in Tamora Pierce's Tortall novels as I do from Game of Thrones. - The Washington Post

Tamora Pierce didn't just blaze a trail. Her heroines cut a swath through the fantasy world with wit, strength, and savvy. Pierce is the real lioness, and we're all just running to keep pace. - Leigh Bardugo, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Tamora Pierce creates epic worlds populated by girls and women of bravery, heart, and strength. Her work inspired a generation of writers and continues to inspire us. - Holly Black, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Tamora Pierce's books shaped me not only as a young writer but also as a young woman. Her complex, unforgettable heroines and vibrant, intricate worlds blazed a trail for young adult fantasy-and I get to write what I love today because of the path she forged throughout her career. She is a pillar, an icon, and an inspiration. - Sarah J. Maas, #1 New York Times bestselling author

ISBN: 9780734418678
ISBN-10: 0734418671
Series: The Numair Chronicles
Audience: Children
For Ages: 11+ years old
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 480
Published: 13th February 2018
Publisher: Hachette Australia
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 19.6 x 12.4  x 3.5
Weight (kg): 0.42
Edition Number: 1