Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Queenie : Now a Channel 4 series - Candice Carty-Williams

Queenie

Now a Channel 4 series

By: Candice Carty-Williams

Paperback | 11 February 2020 | Edition Number 1

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $22.99

$21.90

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA FIRST NOVEL AWARD

LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION


Queenie Jenkins can't cut a break. Well, apart from one from her long term boyfriend, Tom. That's definitely just a break though. Definitely not a break up. Stuck between a boss who doesn't seem to see her, a family who don't seem to listen (if it's not Jesus or water rates, they're not interested), and trying to fit in two worlds that don't really understand her, it's no wonder she's struggling.

She was named to be queen of everything. So why is she finding it so hard to rule her own life?

Perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton, Sally Rooney and Diana Evans, and anyone who loved Fleabag and Dear White People.


About the Author

Candice Carty-Williams was born in 1989, the result of an affair between a Jamaican cab driver and a dyslexic Jamaican-Indian receptionist. She is a journalist, screenwriter, and author of the Sunday Times bestselling Queenie, a book described as 'vital', 'disarmingly honest' and 'boldly political'. In 2016, Candice created and launched the Guardian and 4th Estate BAME (black, Asian and minority ethnic) Short Story Prize, the first inclusive initiative of its kind in book publishing. As a journalist she has written for the Guardian, i-D, Vogue International, every iteration of the Sunday Times, BEAT Magazine, Black Ballad and more.

She will probably always live in South London.
Industry Reviews
Inspirational...written by a new and exciting young woman, it's articulate, brave and 'woke'. Funny, wise, and of the moment, this book and this writer are the ones to watch.

Hilarious, compelling, painful, enlightening, honest. I loved it.

Candice gives so generously with her joy, pain and humour, that we cannot help but become fully immersed in the life of Queenie- a beautiful and compelling book.

Queenie has all the things you want in a debut novel - a startlingly fresh voice, characters you fall in love with from the very first page, and a joyous turn of phrase that makes this book almost impossible to put down. In turns hilariously funny and quietly devastating, Queenie is an important, timely story.

I was engrossed and loved Queenie - her humour, her pain, her politics, her friends, her family!

I enjoyed Queenie a lot; sharp, relatable, and incredibly evocative

Adorable, funny, heartbreaking

Queenie is a masterclass in how to write accessible political fiction about race and gender. Funny, relatable, sad, and hopeful; Candice Carty-Williams is a writer to watch.

2020 Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist

Girl, Woman, Other : WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE 2019 - Bernardine Evaristo
Queenie : Now a Channel 4 series - Candice Carty-Williams

RRP $22.99

$20.50

11%
OFF
How We Disappeared - Jing-Jing Lee

$19.99

2020 Women's Prize for Fiction Longlist

Girl, Woman, Other : WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE 2019 - Bernardine Evaristo
The Mirror And The Light : Wolf Hall - Hilary Mantel

RRP $24.99

$23.75

The Dutch House - Ann Patchett

RRP $22.99

$21.90

Hamnet : Winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction 2020 - Maggie O'Farrell
Queenie : Now a Channel 4 series - Candice Carty-Williams

RRP $22.99

$20.50

11%
OFF
A Thousand Ships - Håkan Nesser

$29.75

Fleishman Is in Trouble - Taffy Brodesser-Akner

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
How We Disappeared - Jing-Jing Lee

$19.99

Girl - Edna O'Brien

Paperback

RRP $24.99

$24.50

Actress : Longlisted for the Women's Prize 2020 - Anne Enright

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
Dominicana : SHORTLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2020 - Angie Cruz