Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Our Shadows : Longlisted for the 2021 Miles Franklin Literary Award - Gail Jones

Our Shadows

Longlisted for the 2021 Miles Franklin Literary Award

By: Gail Jones

Paperback | 29 September 2020

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

A sweeping intergenerational novel from 2019 Prime Minister's Literary Award winner Gail Jones.

Our Shadows is a story about three generations of family living in Kalgoorlie, where gold was discovered in 1893 by an Irish-born prospector named Paddy Hannan, whose own history weaves in and out of this beguiling novel.

Nell and Frances are sisters who are close enough in age to be mistaken for twins. Raised by their grandparents, they now live in Sydney. Each in her own way struggles with the loss of their parents.

Little by little the sisters grow to understand the imaginative force of the past and the legacy of their shared orphanhood. Then Frances decides to make a journey home to the goldfields to explore what lies hidden and unspoken in their lives, in the shadowy tunnels of the past.

About the Author

Gail Jones lives in Sydney and teaches at the University of Western Sydney. Her books have won numerous literary awards in Australia.

She is the author of two collections of short stories and five novels including Sixty Lights which was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize, Dreams of Speaking which was shortlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and longlisted for the Orange Prize, and Sorry which was longlisted for the Orange Prize.

Gail Jones is the author of two short-story collections, a critical monograph, and the novels Black Mirror, Sixty Lights, Dreams of Speaking, Sorry, Five Bells and A Guide to Berlin.

Three times shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award, her prizes include the WA Premier's Award for Fiction, the Nita B. Kibble Award, the Steele Rudd Award, the Age Book of the Year Award, the Adelaide Festival Award for Fiction and the ASAL Gold Medal.

She has also been shortlisted for international awards, including the IMPAC and the Prix Femina. Her fiction has been translated into nine languages.
Industry Reviews
'An oblique and poetic novel...a vivid, unsettling study of mortality.'
* Sunday Times on The Death of Noah Glass *

'Weaving together multiple narratives...the novel sketches a family portrait full of love, loss, and regret.'
* Kirkus on The Death of Noah Glass *

'An intellectually strenuous entertainment concerned with the nature and loss of senses, of filial obligations and their cost, of the vertiginous role of chance...another rich and accomplished work. '
* Sydney Morning Herald on The Death of Noah Glass *

2021 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards Fiction Shortlist

Longlist for the 2021 ARA Historical Novel Prize Adult Category

The Burning Island - Jock Serong


RRP $22.99


The Tolstoy Estate - Steven Conte

RRP $32.99


Bila Yarrudhanggalangdhuray : River of Dreams - Anita Heiss

RRP $32.99


A Room Made of Leaves - Kate Grenville

RRP $32.99


The Last Convict - Anthony Hill

RRP $32.99


Madwoman's Coat, The - Ian Reid


The Glass Harpoon - Robert Horne


Voss Literary Prize 2021 shortlist

Popular Searches