Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Muster Dogs : The bestselling companion book to the original popular ABC TV series for fans of Todd Alexander, Ameliah Scott and James Herriot - Aticia Grey

Muster Dogs

The bestselling companion book to the original popular ABC TV series for fans of Todd Alexander, Ameliah Scott and James Herriot

By: Aticia Grey

Paperback | 17 November 2021

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%OFF

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
An outback story of red dirt, kelpies and the future of a family farm.

Life on the land is often boom or bust, forever at the mercy of Mother Nature.

Aticia 'Teesh' Grey took on the manager's role on her family's West Pilbara cattle station a few years after picking up her first team of kelpies. Almost immediately she was faced with a severe and devastating drought that forced her to question everything she thought she knew about the fragile country of her home.

Through the heartbreaking rollercoaster journey that followed, Teesh's loyal canine companions proved invaluable as she and her family worked towards securing the property's future. The versatility of these amazing dogs took the station in directions no one anticipated.

In 2020, Teesh got the chance to showcase the potential of working dogs more widely. Joining the ABC TV series Muster Dogs, Teesh and four other farming families took on the challenge of training new kelpie pups and testing their worth on the properties they run. Through this experience they showed the bonds that are formed between human and dog and vividly demonstrated a positive environmental future for farming in rural Australia.

This is a story of love, laughter, loss and hope, as Teesh finds her feet in an ever-changing world with the help of the dogs who have stood by her side through it all.

About the Author

Aticia grew up from the age of five on the family's cattle station in the far south-west Pilbara, and after attending boarding school for the required years, returned home to work on the land alongside her parents and brother. Twenty-seven years later, she is still there with her partner, Adam, and mother, Susan, managing the property with a tireless team of kelpies, and practising her rain dance.

Whenever she gets a chance outside station work, she is taking photos of her dogs, organising new homes nationally and internationally for her pups, reading anything in fiction she can get her hands on and cooking up something unhealthy in the kitchen.

Industry Reviews
'Kick your boots off and settle in for a wild journey of love and heartbreak, from the most inspiring cattlewoman I know ...'
Margareta Osborn author and grazier

'Evocative, authentic and freshly engaging account of pastoral life ... reads like a Wild West adventure story ... At the end of this journey Grey recounts her transformative shift to a regenerative agriculture approach that puts the landscape first so as to begin healing 'Country'. What is optimistically promised is a fuller, less stressful lifestyle and healthier, more productive livestock'
Charles Massy author and voice for regenerative agriculture

More in Farm & Working Animals

Moo : A book of happiness for cow lovers - Angus St John Galloway

RRP $17.99

$16.75

The Shepherd's Life : A Tale Of The Lake District - James Rebanks

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The Kelpie : The definitive guide to the Australian working dog - Tony Parsons
The Brumby Wars : The battle for the soul of Australia - Anthony Sharwood
Beekeeping For Dummies - David Wiscombe

RRP $39.95

$28.75

28%
OFF
Bleat : A book of fun for goat lovers - Bronwyn Eley

RRP $29.99

$7.50

75%
OFF
A Short History of the World According to Sheep - Sally Coulthard