Mars Awakens : Volume 1 - HM Waugh

Mars Awakens

Volume 1

By: HM Waugh

Paperback | 3 May 2022

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $17.99

$16.75

Aims to ship in 7 to 10 business days

Kids from rival Martian colonies must come together to fight for survival in this thrilling new middle-grade space adventure from an exciting Australian talent.

Raised in rival colonies on Mars, each long ago abandoned by Earth, Dee and Holt have been brought up to hate even the idea of each other. But when a mysterious object crash lands on a far-flung plain, they are both sent to investigate and their fates intertwine. Together they must battle epic storms and deadly bioclouds while unpicking the web of lies they have been told about their planet. Will their bond be strong enough to withstand the arrival of a mysterious invader that threatens to end life on Mars forever?

Timely and compelling, Mars Awakens is an unputdownable space adventure that offers a window into our future, perfect for fans of Star Wars and sci-fi.

About the Author

H.M. Waugh is an environmental scientist, writer and educator with a long-term love of wild places and high mountains. This has led to icy feet and sunburnt cheeks in magical countries like New Zealand, Nepal, Bolivia and Switzerland. She has studied dolphins in New Zealand and rare plants in the Wheatbelt, and worked in mining and construction projects across Western Australia. When she's not writing, she's teaching school and community groups about science and the environment.
Industry Reviews
'Blast off to Mars in this thrilling tale of mysterious threats and unlikely friendships!' National Geographic Kids

'Waugh...draws on her scientific knowledge to create this...pacey sci-fi thriller in which gender roles are swapped - in this future, girls are the genetically stronger and must protect boys - which ends on a proper nail-biting cliffhanger.' The Sydney Morning Herald

'Conflict, friendship and the environment come together in an engaging story for middle-grade readers...with more to come.' Geelong Advertiser

More in Science Fiction for Children & Teenagers

The Maze Runner (Classic Edition) : Maze Runner - James Dashner
The Toll : Arc of a Scythe: Book 3 - Neal Shusterman

RRP $19.99

$18.25

The Last Zookeeper - Aaron Becker

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
The Giver : The Giver Quartet Book 1 - Lois Lowry

RRP $17.99

$16.75

The Death Cure (The Maze Runner #3 : Classic Edition) - James Dashner
A Wizard Of Earthsea : A Puffin Book - Ursula K. Le Guin

RRP $16.99

$15.80

Restore Me : Shatter Me Book 4: TikTok Made Me Buy It! - Tahereh Mafi
Defy Me : Shatter Me Book 5: TikTok Made Me Buy It! - Tahereh Mafi
Arc Of A Scythe - Boxed Set : Scythe, Thunderhead and The Toll - Neal Shusterman
Find Me : The Shatter Me Novellas - Shadow Me & Reveal Me - Tahereh Mafi
Believe Me : Shatter Me Book 6.5: TikTok Made Me Buy It! - Tahereh Mafi
Imagine Me : Shatter Me Book 6: TikTok Made Me Buy It! - Tahereh Mafi
Shatter Me : Shatter Me : Book 1 - Tahereh Mafi

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Unravel Me : Shatter Me : Book 2 - Tahereh Mafi

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Ignite Me : Shatter Me: Book 3 - Tahereh Mafi

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Wild Robot - Peter Brown

RRP $16.99

$15.80

Stellarlune : Keeper of the Lost Cities: Book 9 - Shannon Messenger
Snowglobe - Soyoung Park

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Thunderhead : Arc of a Scythe: Book 2 - Neal Shusterman

RRP $19.99

$18.25

The Deadlands : Hunted - Skye Melki-Wegner

RRP $16.99

$15.80