+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Marge In Charge : Why follow the rules when you can invent your own? - Isla Fisher

Marge In Charge

Why follow the rules when you can invent your own?

By: Isla Fisher, Eglantine Ceulemans (Illustrator)

Paperback Published: 1st August 2016
ISBN: 9781848125339
Number Of Pages: 176
For Ages: 6+ years old

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $14.99
$12.95
14%
OFF
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 26 Qantas Points
on this Book


Jemima and Jake's new babysitter doesn't look too promising. In fact she looks very sensible, very old and VERY small (she only comes up to daddy's armpit!). But the moment their parents leave the house, Marge gives a mischievous wink, takes off her hat and reveals a marvellous mane of rainbow-coloured hair!

Marge really is a babysitter like no other and the children spend a wild evening with her - racing snails, slurping chocolate soup and mixing potions in the bath! But if Jake and Jemima want her to babysit again it's time for them to take charge of Marge, tidy up and settle her down for a little sleep.

Three hilarious, anarchic and charming MARGE stories from A-list actress, mother, writer and comedian Isla Fisher.

About the Author

Isla Fisher began acting as a child and has worked solidly in television and film for the past 25 years. She has appeared in Home And Away, The Great Gatsby and Definitely Maybe, to name a few. She also studied in Paris to become a clown for two years before realising that there is not much call for miming 'the wall'! Isla has played many roles over the years, from a bonkers bridesmaid in Wedding Crashers to the poster girl for consumerism in Confessions Of A Shopaholic.

But her favourite role has been being a mummy to daughters Olive and Elula and son Montgomery. Isla has been making up stories at bedtime for them every night since they were born. These books are for her children, as a reminder of all the fun they have at bedtime reading books and sharing stories.

About the Illustrator

Eglantine Ceulemans spent her childhood reading Belgian comics. In 2007 she joined the Emile Cohl School of Art in Lyon, France, transforming her passion for illustration into a vocation. She loves working in an intuitive way, combining humor and sensitivity, and using different mediums and techniques. Eglantine currently resides in Lyon.

Industry Reviews

This is a delightful collection of three short stories that children will love (...) Full of hilarity, this is a great debut book.'
parentsintouch.co.uk

Fisher's debut novel, is the comic tale of an anarchic babysitter who causes mayhem. Perfect for reading aloud.
The Daily Express

The plentiful illustrations and the length of the stories (individually about fifty pages each) will appeal to competent readers ready to embark on solo reading and Marge's crazy tales of pink flamingos and being sawn in half will entertain anyone who enjoys a giggle
Reading Zone

The stories have a lovely family feel to them. Jake is a very 'real' little boy- certainly no angel. He won't eat broccoli and hates washing his hair, but Marge finds ways of making these fun things to do. Their warm relationship with Marge shows that older people can be fun to be around and celebrates cross generation relationships. Their parents are busy, but interested and loving - it's a happy home! The illustrations are delightful, bringing the characters to life and there are plenty of them, capturing the sense of fun in each story. There are three fun stories in this book, perfect for children starting to read independently and wanting achievable, satisfying stories
The Book Blog, North Somerset Teacher's Book Award

Fisher has an incredible knack for comedy, and she's managed to transfer this to the page in a way which will make six to nine year old readers chuckle relentlessly'
Bath Life

Imaginative and original tale for kids...an accessible, family friendly style making it perfect for parents to read out loud or for kids to read on their own - Kathryn White
Kathryn's Inbox Website

David Walliams possibly needs to move over slightly as Isla is definitely in charge!
Askew's Reader Development website

It was a refreshing change to find Jemima, the child, cleaning up after Marge, the adult, falls asleep, Marge is one of those characters I can't wait to read more about. I think this is a series that could run and run
Serendipity Reviews Book Blog

If Roald Dahl had written Mary Poppins - that's Isla Fisher's Marge in Charge. Con really loved reading this book for settle down time. Beautifully illustrated and split into three fun stories. Fans of Dahl and Walliams will need to read Marge in Charge. Highly Recommended!!!
Kid Cool Lit Book Blog

Fresh, fun and family friendly stories
AGreatRead.co.uk

ISBN: 9781848125339
ISBN-10: 184812533X
Series: Marge
Audience: Children
For Ages: 6+ years old
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 176
Published: 1st August 2016
Publisher: Templar Publishing
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.8  x 1.2
Weight (kg): 0.16

Earn 26 Qantas Points
on this Book