+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Ice Station : Scarecrow : Book 1 - Matthew Reilly

Ice Station

Scarecrow : Book 1

Paperback

Published: 1st November 2012
In Stock. Ships from Australia today or next business day
RRP $14.99
$13.50
10%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 10th November 2007
Format: ePUB
$9.99

Other Available Formats (Hide)

  • Audio CD View Product Published: 1st May 2006
    In Stock. Ships from Australia today or next business day
    $27.35

At a remote ice station in Antarctica, a team of US scientists has found something buried deep within a 100-million-year-old layer of ice. Something made of metal.

In a land without boundaries, there are no rules. Every country would kill for this prize.

A team of crack United States marines is sent to the station to secure the discovery. Their leader - Lieutenant Shane Schofield, call-sign: SCARECROW. They are a tight unit, tough and fearless. They would follow their leader into hell. They just did...

Fans of Clive Cussler, Tom Clancy and Michael Crichton will love Matthew Reilly.

WRITE A REVIEW

This book is something I would read again and again

5

This book keeps me guessing at each page! It is suspenseful and a must pick up for everyone!

Somewhere

true

once started to read couldn't stop untill finished

5

once started reading this book couldn't stop

toowoomba

true

Feels like I'm reading a hollywood blockbuster.

5

Ice Station was the first novel I've read from Matthew Reilly and I am pleased to say that this novel had me hooked from the first chapter. Ice Station was a pleasure to read filled with non-stop escapist action from start to finish. I would like to see this novel make its way onto the big screen.

Gold Coast, Qld

true

Action packed from page 1

5

From the moment you read page 1 you can't put it down. Action packed, easy to follow and a real page turner. This is the first time I have read anything from Matthew Reilly and if Ice Station is anything to go by, I will definately be reading more.

Melbourne

true

The Best Book Ever Written

5

Matthew Reilly is my favorite author, and Ice Station is my favorite book! I have read this book, and every book in this series, at least a dozen times, and will read it anther dozen times. His detail to maps and weaponry are excellent and the whole series is easy to follow. This fast-paced, action book is a great read for anyone!

Nowra

true

Love the series

5

Love this series of books

Leyburn Qld

true

FAST PACED ACTION & GREAT WRITING...

5

Matthew Reilly's book 'Ice Station' the first installment of the 'Scarecrow Series' is a fantastic start... I highly recommend NOT picking up this book to fill in some time because when you need to put it down... you just can't... I have re-read this book 4 times and I want to read it again... The characters are awesome and original, Matthew Reilly also prides himself on his knowledge of weaponry and also making maps of places featured in the novel located at the start/ends of the book for quick referencing so you can get a visualisation and sense of direction... If you are looking for a fast paced, white knuckled exciting book.... Stop right now and buy this book... Good for 17-late 40 year old males... Also I recommend 'Contest' and 'Temple', both by Matthew Reilly as well..

Brisbane

true

ICE STATION

4

GREAT FAST PACE READING FROM MATT - WHO IS NOT BACKWARD IN TAKING OUT FAVOURIT HERO'S OR MAIN CHARACTERS

BRISBANE

true

Ice Station

4.9 8

100.0

Matthew Reilly

Born July 2nd, 1974, Matthew Reilly is the international bestselling author of ten novels, Ice Station, Temple, Contest, Area 7, Scarecrow, Hover Car Racer, Seven Ancient Wonders, The Six Sacred Stones, The Five Greatest Warriors and The Four Legendary Kingdoms.

Published in over 20 countries and known for their highly visual style, fast pace and large-scale action scenes, over 7.5 million copies of his books have been sold around the world, more than a million copies apiece between Australia, the UK and the USA.

Some of his works have been optioned by film studios for series or feature production, and he continues to create works of fiction across all major media platforms, from short stories, through to novellas and screenplays.

Matthew's novels have also - unexpectedly - become a major tool in the fight to get teenagers into reading. While written for a mature readership, Matthew's novels have become very popular with reluctant male readers. This may stem from Matthew's own childhood experience, citing his dislike for set reading projects in high-school as his main inspiration to 'do it better'.

He wrote and self-published Contest in 1996 while just 19, deliberately aiming to have his book noticed by publishers who talent-scout at bookstores. His dedication paid off, and was discovered by Pan Macmillan's then commissioning editor Cate Paterson. His first industry-produced novel, Ice Station, proved so monumentally popular, that it had to be reprinted six times in its first two years.

The continued success of his novels has been attributed to not only the accessible, 'storyteller' style of writing, but also the highly charged and kinetic action sequences that take place throughout his works, deliberately making use of his 'unlimited budget' of imagination to create scenes 'too big for Hollywood'.

Visit Matthew Reilly's Booktopia Author Page


ISBN: 9781742611747
ISBN-10: 1742611745
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 624
Published: 1st November 2012
Publisher: Pan Macmillan Australia
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 19.7 x 13.2  x 4.1
Weight (kg): 0.43
Edition Number: 1