Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Great Circle : The soaring and emotional novel shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2022 and shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2021 - Maggie Shipstead

Great Circle

The soaring and emotional novel shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2022 and shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2021

By: Maggie Shipstead

Paperback | 12 April 2022

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%OFF

Aims to ship in 7 to 10 business days

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2021

'A gripping historical adventure that feels sharp, fresh and modern' STYLIST
'An amazing literary feat' CURTIS SITTENFELD

'A masterpiece' NIGELLA LAWSON

A soaring, breathtakingly ambitious novel that weaves together the astonishing lives of a 1950s vanished female aviator and the modern-day Hollywood actress who plays her on screen. For fans of TAYLOR JENKINS REID, WILLIAM BOYD and ANN PATCHETT

_________________________________________
I WAS BORN TO BE A WANDERER

From the night she is rescued as a baby out of the flames of a sinking ship; to the day she joins a pair of daredevil pilots looping and diving over the rugged forests of her childhood, to the thrill of flying Spitfires during the war, the life of Marian Graves has always been marked by a lust for freedom and danger.

In 1950, she embarks on the great circle flight, circumnavigating the globe. It is Marian's life dream and her final journey, before she disappears without a trace.

Half a century later, Hadley Baxter, a scandal-ridden Hollywood actress whose own parents perished in a plane crash is irresistibly drawn to play Marian Graves, a role that will lead her to probe the true mystery behind the vanished pilot.
_________________________________________
'Extraordinary' NEW YORK TIMES
'Full of adventure, passion and tragedy' THE TIMES
'Soars from the very first page' SUNDAY EXPRESS
'Luminous, masterful. Glides seamlessly through 20th century history' TELEGRAPH
'Breathtaking' OBSERVER

Readers love GREAT CIRCLE-
*****
What a read! Immense story with beautifully created characters
***** A 600 page turner that you are sad to finish
***** The story is so well researched and planned; historical fiction standing side by side with history itself
***** This is a stunning achievement, my perspective feels fundamentally transformed through reading it
***** A wonderful saga, covering a large chunk of the twentieth century

About the Author

Maggie Shipstead's debut novel Seating Arrangements was a New York Times bestseller and winner of the Dylan Thomas Prize and L A Times Book Prize for First Fiction. Her work has appeared in the New York Times, Guardian, Conde Nast Traveller, The Best American Short Stories and elsewhere. She is a graduate of the Iowa Writer's Workshop, a former Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford and a two- time National Magazine Award finalist for fiction. Her latest novel Great Circle has been seven years in the writing and is due to be published around the world. Maggie Shipstead grew up in California and lives in Los Angeles, California.

2022 Women's Prize for Fiction Shortlist