Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Flamingo Boy - Michael Morpurgo

Flamingo Boy

By: Michael Morpurgo

Paperback | 18 February 2019

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION.

This is a landmark new novel from the nation’s favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents’ farm among the salt flats, and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn’t understand: but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine, and music too: and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel.

But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart.

Only there’s a kind sergeant among the Germans – a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken – and maybe even the whole town…
Industry Reviews

"Please invite this wonderful story in, you won't regret it. History is rarely more movingly alive." Morris Gleitzman

Praise for Michael Morpurgo:
"Michael Morpurgo writes brilliantly about war and animals, conveying the big emotions without preaching." Guardian

"Champagne quality over a wide range of subjects." Daily Telegraph

"There are few children's writers as compelling as Michael Morpurgo." Daily Express

"Morpurgo, as always, is subtle and skilful, and incorporates social and moral issues into his writing without being self-righteous or detracting from the quality of the narrative"
Elizabeth Reilly, British Council

"The former children's laureate has the happy knack of speaking to both child and adult readers." Guardian

QLD Premier's Reading Challenge : Years 6 to 7

Return of the Temujai - Brotherband Series : Book 8 - John Flanagan
Black Cockatoo : Black Cockatoo - Carl Merrison

RRP $17.99

$16.75

Kicking Goals with Goodesy and Magic - Adam Goodes

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Ned Kelly and the Green Sash - Mark Greenwood
Sick Bay - Nova Weetman

Paperback

RRP $16.95

$15.80

The Great Escape : Wolf Girl: Book 2 - Anh Do
Fearless Frederic - Felice Arena

RRP $16.99

$15.80

Girl Geeks : Game On : Girl Geeks - Alex Miles

RRP $14.99

$14.25

The Map of Half Maps : Atticus Van Tasticus : Book 2 - Andrew Daddo
Jackie French's Chook Book - Jackie French

RRP $24.95

$21.75

13%
OFF
Flamingo Boy - Michael Morpurgo

Paperback

$16.99

The Fail Safe - Jack Heath

Paperback

$17.99

The Adventures of Jack Scratch : Curse of the Kraken - Craig Phillips
Cheeky Dogs : To Lake Nash and Back - Johanna Bell

RRP $29.99

$27.90

Yong - Janeen Brian

Paperback

$18.99

Other Books By Michael Morpurgo

The Butterfly Lion - Michael Morpurgo

$16.99

Beowulf - Michael Morpurgo

Paperback

RRP $14.99

$14.25

War Horse - Michael Morpurgo

Paperback

$22.25

Kaspar : Prince of Cats - Michael Morpurgo

$16.99

Farm Boy : The Sequel To War Horse - Michael Morpurgo

RRP $24.99

$23.75

An Eagle In The Snow - Michael Morpurgo

RRP $16.99

$16.25

Flying Scotsman and the Best Birthday Ever - Michael Morpurgo
Escape from Shangri-La - Michael Morpurgo

EOFY Sale

RRP $17.99

$3.95

78%
OFF
There Once Is A Queen - Michael Morpurgo

RRP $24.99

$23.75

War Horse - Michael Morpurgo

Hardcover

$28.90

Private Peaceful : Film tie-in Edition - Michael Morpurgo

RRP $16.99

$16.95

Private Peaceful : After Words - Michael Morpurgo
An Elephant in the Garden - Michael Morpurgo

RRP $16.99

$16.95

The Wreck Of The Zanzibar - Michael Morpurgo
From Hereabout Hill - Michael Morpurgo

$16.99

King Of The Cloud Forests - Michael Morpurgo
All I Said Was : Acorns - Michael Morpurgo

$14.99

Friend or Foe - Michael Morpurgo

Paperback

$24.95

White Horse of Zennor - Michael Morpurgo

$19.75

Flamingo Boy - Michael Morpurgo

Paperback

$16.99

The Butterfly Lion [25th Anniversary Edition] - Michael Morpurgo
Jemima the Pig and the 127 Acorns - Michael Morpurgo