Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Entangled Life : How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds and Shape Our Futures - Merlin Sheldrake

Entangled Life

How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds and Shape Our Futures

By: Merlin Sheldrake

Paperback | 28 September 2021

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%OFF

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
Booktopia Comments
"If you want to get a new perspective on the world around us, but aren't keen to partake in psychedelics (or even if you are), read this book." - Tabitha

Product Description
A mind-altering adventure through the world of fungi for readers of Robert Macfarlane and Other Minds

The smash-hit Sunday Times bestseller that will transform your understanding of our planet and life itself.

'Dazzling, vibrant, vision-changing'
Robert Macfarlane

Winner of the Wainwright Prize for Conservation Writing 2021

The more we learn about fungi, the less makes sense without them. They can change our minds, heal our bodies and even help us avoid environmental disaster; they are metabolic masters, earth-makers and key players in most of nature's processes. In Entangled Life, Merlin Sheldrake takes us on a mind-altering journey into their spectacular world, and reveals how these extraordinary organisms transform our understanding of our planet and life itself.

'Gorgeous!' Margaret Atwood (on Twitter)

'Reads like an adventure story... Wondrous'
Sunday Times

'Urgent, astounding and necessary'
Helen Macdonald

'A magical writer'
Russell Brand

* A Sunday Times, Daily Telegraph, New Statesman, The Times, Evening Standard, Mail on Sunday, BBC Science Focus and Time Book of the Year *

About the Author

Merlin Sheldrake is a biologist and a writer. He received a Ph.D. in Tropical Ecology from Cambridge University for his work on underground fungal networks in tropical forests in Panama, where he was a predoctoral research fellow of the Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute. He is a musician and keen fermenter. Entangled Life is his first book.
Industry Reviews
A dazzling, vibrant, vision-changing book. Sentence after sentence stopped me short. I ended it wonderstruck at the fungal world - the secrets of which modern science is only now beginning to fathom - and the earth-shaking, hierarchy-breaking implications of Sheldrake's argument. A remarkable work by a remarkable writer
Robert MacFarlane, author of Underland

One of those rare books that can truly change the way you see the world around you, Entangled Life is a mercurial, revelatory, impassioned, urgent, astounding, and necessary read. It's fearless in scope, analytically astute, and brimming with infectious joy
Helen Macdonald, author of H is for Hawk

A true masterpiece, a thrilling and fascinating insight into the living world, beautifully written, entertaining, funny and inspiring, while representing the science carefully and responsibly. I hope and trust that it will become an instant classic
George Monbiot

I fell in love with this book. Merlin is a scientist with the imagination of a poet and a beautiful writer ... This is a book that, by virtue of the power of its writing, shifts your sense of the human ... It will inspire a generation to enter mycology
Michael Pollan (Bay Area Book Festival, 2020)

Entangled Life is a revelation. It is a radical, hopeful and important book and I couldn't put it down. With elegance, wit and clarity Sheldrake engages us in the hidden world of fungi, a miraculous web of connections, interactions and communication that changes the way we need to look at life, the planet and ourselves
Isabella Tree, author of Wilding

More in Trees, Mushrooms, Wildflowers & Plants

We Made A Garden - Margery Fish

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
Wild Food Plants of Australia - Tim Low

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Petal : The World of Flowers Through an Artist's Eye - Adriana Picker
Psilocybin Mushrooms of the World : An Identification Guide - Paul Stamets
Growing Gourmet & Medicinal Mushrooms : Third Edition - Paul Stamets
Orchids For Dummies : 2nd edition - Steven A. Frowine

RRP $41.95

$33.25

21%
OFF
From Earth : A guide to creating a natural apothecary - Charlotte Rasmussen
The Tree Collectors : Tales of Arboreal Obsession - Amy Stewart

RRP $49.99

$38.75

22%
OFF
Peonies : Beautiful Varieties For Home And Garden - Jane Eastoe

RRP $39.99

$31.75

21%
OFF
Trees of Australia : Green Guide : Green Guide - Peter Krish
The Man Who Planted Trees - Jean Giono

RRP $19.00

$14.25

25%
OFF
Kew Answers for Everyday Gardeners : 100 Questions Answered - Kew Royal Botanic Gardens
The Lives of Lichens : A Natural History - Robert Lcking

RRP $59.99

$41.25

31%
OFF