+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Conducting Brahms - Norman Del Mar

Paperback Published: 7th October 1993
ISBN: 9780198163572
Number Of Pages: 240

Share This Book:


RRP $115.95
Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Earn 159 Qantas Points
on this Book

With two volumes of reflections on conducting the orchestral music of Beethoven already published, Norman Del Mar now embarks on the wider repertoire, beginning with Brahms, whose output forms the backbone of serious music study and concert programmes. Del Mar's own interpretations of Brahms have been hailed as sincere and thoughtful, and it is these attributes, together with Del Mar's strong sense of the music's architecture, which will be of value to interpreters. Del Mar writes on the four Symphonies, the Concertos, the Haydn Variations, and the Overtures and Serenades, offering descriptions of conducting styles and thoughts on orchestral bowing and rehearsal psychology. The book concludes by examining the background and text of a major choral work, this time the German Requiem.

Industry Reviews

'these beautifully written books are to be read in conjunction with the scores: Del Mar takes the reader meitculously through the works, bar by bar ... he is completely trustworthy ... For both the student conductor and those with more experience, the books are thought-provoking, stimulating and above all illuminating. They are also extremely practical. Norman Del Mar's own wide knowledge and experience of the repertoire shines through these instructive pages. In the immediate aftermath of Norman Del Mar's death, it is hard not to read these marvellous books as part-autobiography. Thanks to the clarity of his descriptions, one can almost hear Del Mar's performances on the page. These chapters will remain as vital a musical legacy as any of his own recordings.' Jane Glover, BBC Music

Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68p. 1
Symphony No. 2 in D, Op. 73p. 24
Symphony No. 3 in F, Op. 90p. 42
Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Op. 98p. 58
Academic Festival Overture, Op. 80p. 85
Tragic Overture, Op. 81p. 92
Variations on a Theme of Joseph Haydn, Op. 56ap. 96
Piano Concerto No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15p. 105
Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat, Op. 83p. 122
Violin Concerto in D, Op. 77p. 137
Double Concerto in A minor, Op. 102p. 154
Serenade No. 1 in D, Op. 11p. 168
Serenade No. 2 in A, Op. 16p. 183
Ein deutsches Requiem, Op. 45p. 193
Indexp. 225
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780198163572
ISBN-10: 0198163576
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 240
Published: 7th October 1993
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.74 x 14.12  x 1.52
Weight (kg): 0.32

Earn 159 Qantas Points
on this Book