Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Collaborative Intelligence : Thinking with People Who Think Differently - Dawna Markova

Collaborative Intelligence

Thinking with People Who Think Differently

By: Dawna Markova, Angie McArthur

Hardcover | 11 August 2015 | Edition Number 1

At a Glance

Hardcover


RRP $55.00

$50.40

or 4 interest-free payments of $12.60 with

Aims to ship in 30 to 35 business days

For readers of Dan Pink and the Heath brothers, a breakthrough book on the transformative power of collaborative thinking.

A breakthrough book on the transformative power of collaborative thinking

Collaborative intelligence, or CQ, is a measure of our ability to think with others on behalf of what matters to us all. It is emerging as a new professional currency at a time when the way we think, interact, and innovate is shifting. In the past, "market share" companies ruled by hierarchy and topdown leadership. Today, the new market leaders are "mind share" companies, where influence is more important than power, and success relies on collaboration and the ability to inspire.

Collaborative Intelligence
is the culmination of more than fifty years of original research that draws on Dawna Markova's background in cognitive neuroscience and her most recent work, with Angie McArthur, as a "Professional Thinking Partner" to some of the world's top CEOs and creative professionals. Markova and McArthur are experts at getting brilliant yet difficult people to think together. They have been brought in to troubleshoot for Fortune 500 leaders in crisis and managers struggling to inspire their teams.

When asked about their biggest challenges at work, Markova and McArthur's clients all cite a common problem- other people. This response reflects the way we have been taught to focus on the gulfs between us rather than valuing our intellectual diversity-that is, the ways in which each of us is uniquely gifted, how we process information and frame questions, what kind of things deplete us, and what engages and inspires us. Through a series of practices and strategies, the authors teach us how to recognize our own mind patterns and map the talents of our teams, with the goal of embarking together on an aligned course of action and influence.

In Markova and McArthur's experience, managers who appreciate intellectual diversity will lead their teams to innovation; employees who understand it will thrive because they are in touch with their strengths; and an entire team who understands it will come together to do their best work in a symphony of collaboration, their individual strengths working in harmony like an orchestra or a high-performing sports team.

Praise for Collaborative Intelligence

"Rooted in the latest neuroscience on the nature of collaboration, Collaborative Intelligence celebrates the power of working and thinking together at the highest levels of business and politics, and in the smallest aspects of our everyday lives. Dawna Markova and Angie McArthur show us that our ability to collaborate is not only a measure of intelligence, but essential to solving the world's problems and seeing the possibilities in ourselves and others."-Arianna Huffington

"This inspiring book teaches you how to align your intention with the intention of others, and how, through shared strengths and talents, you have every right to expect greatness and set the highest goals and expectations."-Deepak Chopra

"Everyone talks about collaboration today, but the rhetoric typically outweighs the reality. Collaborative Intelligence offers tangible tools for those serious about becoming 'system leaders' who can close the gap and make collaboration real."-Peter M. Senge, author of The Fifth Discipline

"I have worked with Markova and McArthur for several years, focusing on achieving better results through intellectual diversity. Their approach has encouraged more candid debate and collaborative behavior within the team. The team, not individuals, becomes the hero."-Al Carey, CEO, PepsiCo
Industry Reviews
"Rooted in the latest neuroscience on the nature of collaboration, Collaborative Intelligence celebrates the power of working and thinking together at the highest levels of business and politics, and in the smallest aspects of our everyday lives. Dawna Markova and Angie McArthur show us that our ability to collaborate is not only a measure of intelligence, but essential to solving the world's problems and seeing the possibilities in ourselves and others."--Arianna Huffington

"This inspiring book teaches you how to align your intention with the intention of others, and how, through shared strengths and talents, you have every right to expect greatness and set the highest goals and expectations."--Deepak Chopra

"Everyone talks about collaboration today, but the rhetoric typically outweighs the reality. Collaborative Intelligence offers tangible tools for those serious about becoming 'system leaders' who can close the gap and make collaboration real."--Peter M. Senge, author of The Fifth Discipline

"I have worked with Markova and McArthur for several years, focusing on achieving better results through intellectual diversity. Their approach has encouraged more candid debate and collaborative behavior within the team. The team, not individuals, becomes the hero."--Al Carey, CEO, PepsiCo

"Building collaborative intelligence by putting the concepts in this book into action with my executive team was one of the most critical variables to our success."--Jeff Dunn, CEO, Bolthouse Farms

"It's time to call an end to striving to be 'the smartest guy in the room' and instead invite everyone's unique intelligence to the table. Collaborative Intelligence teaches you how to recognize the unique ways that you think and how others think, with the goal of reducing conflict and increasing productivity, creativity, innovation, and maybe even joy! This is a breakthrough book."--Jacki Zehner, chief engagement officer, Women Moving Millions

"To paraphrase Einstein, the significant problems we face cannot be solved at the same level of thinking we were at when we created them. This terrific book helps us attain a new level of thinking by teaching us how to think better together. It helps us learn how our differences in individual thinking--our intellectual diversity--can be turned into our collective strengths by fostering real collaboration in thinking. Simultaneously filled with insight and application, Collaborative Intelligence is engaging, relevant, and valuable. In an increasingly collaborative world, this is a remarkable book for our time!"--Stephen M. R. Covey, author of The Speed of Trust

"The methods in this eye-opening book have taught me how to locate my strengths and access the traits where my potential remains dormant. As a result, I have learned to harness my potency and to become more productive and effective--and I'm able to inspire others in a way I could only imagine of a few short years ago."--Suzy Amis Cameron, co-founder, Muse Schools

"This book is filled with essential questions, commonsense answers, and stories that illustrates how to magnify one's intelligence by drawing on the intelligence of others. It's a manual for clarifying objectives, then realizing them."--Dee Hock, founder and CEO emeritus, VISA International

More in Advice on Careers & Achieving Success

The Algebra of Wealth : A Simple Formula for Success - Scott Galloway
How to Win Friends and Influence People - Dale Carnegie

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Sort Your Career Out : And Make More Money - Shelley Johnson

RRP $32.95

$24.95

24%
OFF
Grit : The Power of Passion and Perseverance - Angela Duckworth

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
The 5am Club : Own Your Morning. Elevate Your Life. - Robin Sharma
The Culture Code : The Secrets of Highly Successful Groups - Daniel Coyle
Head and Heart : The Art of Modern Leadership - Kirstin Ferguson

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Hidden Potential : The Science of Achieving Greater Things - Adam Grant
12 Rules for Life : Antidote to Chaos - Jordan B. Peterson

RRP $22.99

$13.50

41%
OFF
Your Personal Horoscope 2025 : Your Personal Horoscope - Lars Mellis