+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Big Six : Swallows and Amazons - Book 9 - Arthur Ransome

Big Six

Swallows and Amazons - Book 9

Hardcover Published: 24th June 1982
ISBN: 9780224606394
Number Of Pages: 400
For Ages: 0 - 2 years old

Share This Book:


RRP $50.99
Ships in 15 business days

Earn 75 Qantas Points
on this Book

The Ds return to Norfolk, hoping to enjoy a holiday with their friends of the Coot Club. Unfortunately, they find the Death and Glories coming under an increasing cloud of suspicion for setting moored boats adrift.

Everywhere they go boats seem to be cast adrift and they are threatened with being forbidden to sail. Things get worse when new shackles are stolen from a boatbuilder after one of the casting off episodes and some of them are found aboard the Death and Glory. At the same time, the boys seem to be flush with cash, but they won't say where they got it.

The Big Six (Dick, Dorothea, Tom Dudgeon, and the three Death and Glories) get together to investigate the crimes and collect evidence. Eventually a carefully prepared trap is sprung and in a flash (literally, to take a night photo of the real culprits), the villains are discovered and the boys are exonerated. The source of their secret supply of money is uncovered when a local pub unveils a magnificent stuffed pike.

Industry Reviews

He makes a tale of adventure a handbook to adventure. "Observer" There is plenty of excitement, a little danger, a quality of thinking, planning and fun which is delightful and stimulating. "TLS""

ISBN: 9780224606394
ISBN-10: 0224606395
Series: Swallows and Amazons Ser.
Audience: General
For Ages: 0 - 2 years old
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 400
Published: 24th June 1982
Publisher: Vintage Publishing
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 20.1 x 13.6  x 3.6
Weight (kg): 0.54
Edition Number: 1

Earn 75 Qantas Points
on this Book

Arthur Ransome

About the Author

Arthur Michell Ransome was born in Leeds in 1884 and educated in Windermere and Rugby. His family spent their summers at Nibthwaite, to the south of Coniston Water.

In 1902, Ransome abandoned a chemistry degree to become a publisher's office boy in London. He used this precarious existence to practise writing, producing several minor works before Bohemia in London (1907), a study of London's artistic scene and his first significant book.

An interest in folklore, together with a desire to escape an unhappy first marriage, led Ransome to St Petersburg, where he was ideally placed to observe and report on the Russian Revolution. He knew many of the leading Bolsheviks, including Lenin, Radek, Trotsky and the latter's secretary, Evgenia Shvelpina. These contacts led to persistent but unproven accusations that he "spied" for both the Bolsheviks and Britain.

Ransome married Evgenia and returned to England in 1924. Settling in the Lake District, he spent the late 1920s as a foreign correspondent and highly-respected angling columnist for the Manchester Guardian, before settling down to write Swallows and Amazons and its successors.

Today Ransome is best known for his Swallows and Amazons series of novels, (1931 - 1947). All remain in print and have been widely translated.

Arthur Ransome died in June 1967 and is buried at Rusland in the Lake District.

Visit Arthur Ransome's Booktopia Author Page