+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$6.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
As She Ascends : Fallen Isles - Jodi Meadows

As She Ascends

Fallen Isles

Paperback Published: 13th August 2019
ISBN: 9780062469441
Number Of Pages: 576
For Ages: 13+ years old

Other Formats

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $19.99
$16.80
16%
OFF
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 34 Qantas Points
on this Book

From the New York Times bestselling co-author of My Plain Jane comes the second book in a smoldering fantasy trilogy about a girl who must embrace her latent power or lose the dragons she loves. Perfect for fans of Julie Kagawa and Kendare Blake.

Mira the Dragonhearted is on the run with her friends following a fiery escape from the prison where she'd been condemned for speaking out against dragon trafficking.

And she wants answers. Has the treaty she's been defending her whole life truly sold out the Fallen Isles to their enemies Did her own parents lie to her Will she lose control of her power and hurt the ones she loves

The only way to find the truth is to go home again, to face the people who betrayed her and the parents she's not sure she can trust. Home, where she must learn to rise above her fears. Or be consumed.

About the Author

Jodi Meadows wants to be a ferret when she grows up and she has no self-control when it comes to yarn, ink, or outer space. Still, she manages to write books. She is the author of the Incarnate trilogy, the Orphan Queen duology, and the Fallen Isles trilogy and coauthor of the New York Times bestseller My Lady Jane.

Industry Reviews

Praise for Before She Ignites: "...fast-paced, with surprising twists and turns. This richly written fantasy-the first in a trilogy-will keep readers asking whom to trust and wondering what's true." -- School Library Journal
"The complex political system is compellingly built, and Mira's characterization is admirable. Hand to fans of rich world building-and, of course, fans of dragons." -- ALA Booklist
"Meadows portrays acutely Mira's insecurities about not living up to the demands of her station or to her mother's expectations...while exploring issues of inclusivity and discrimination. Fans of Naomi Novik's Temeraire series or Julie Kagawa's Talon books will be delighted." -- Publishers Weekly
"Meadows weaves a taut narrative of loss, betrayal, and friendship, building a politically and environmentally fascinating world that readers who are looking for fantasies that center on people of color will especially appreciate." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"Meadows sows the seeds for an exciting follow-up and creates a rich, vivid world with characters who blossom on the page.... A page-turner that promises future intrigue, special powers, and dragon adventures." -- Kirkus Reviews
"Mira is a fascinating and flawed heroine who tilts the world on its side. I loved her and this fiercely imagined world." -- Mary Pearson, New York Times bestselling author of The Remnant Chronicles
"A fully realized fantasy world complete with dragons, treachery, and flawed characters discovering their courage. I couldn't put it down!" -- C .J. Redwine, New York Times bestselling author of The Shadow Queen
"Complex world-building and luminous storytelling. Mira will sear a mark on your heart long after the final page is consumed." -- Stacey Lee, award-winning author of Outrun the Moon and The Secret of a Heart Note

ISBN: 9780062469441
ISBN-10: 0062469444
Series: Fallen Isles
Audience: Children
For Ages: 13+ years old
For Grades: 7 - 9
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 576
Published: 13th August 2019
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.2 x 13.5  x 3.4
Weight (kg): 0.41

Earn 34 Qantas Points
on this Book