1300 187 187
 
The Assassin's Blade : The Throne of Glass Novellas - Sarah J. Maas

The Assassin's Blade

The Throne of Glass Novellas

Paperback

Published: 1st March 2014
For Ages: 11+ years old
In Stock. Usually ships in 1-2 business days
$12.99

eBook View Product

Published: 13th March 2014
Format: ePUB
$10.75

All five of Sarah J. Maas's Assassin novellas together for the first time - in one irresistible paperback edition!

Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan's most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin's Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas - together in one edition for the first time - Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn's orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free?

Includes: Assassin and the Pirate Lord, Assassin and the Desert, Assassin and the Underworld, Assassin and the Empire and the new Assassin and the Healer.

About the Author

Throne of Glass was Sarah J. Maas's first full-length novel to be published, though she already had a large online fan base, many of whom discovered this fantasy world in its first incarnation on www.fictionpress.com, written when Sarah was just sixteen. Throne of Glass was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Teen Book of the Year and has sold in thirteen languages.

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
The Assassin's Blade
 
4.5

(based on 2 reviews)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

Reviewed by 2 customers

Sort by

Displaying reviews 1-2

Back to top

 
4.0

More Celena story!

By Lozzlebot

from Brisbane, AU

About Me Bookworm

Verified Buyer

Pros

  • Extra Material
  • Great Short Stories
  • Well Written

Cons

  • Impatient For Next Book

Best Uses

  • Teen readers

Comments about The Assassin's Blade:

If, like me, you read this after 'Throne of Glass' and 'Crown of Midnight' to tide you over until the release of 'Heir of Fire'...you are in for disappointment! This just leaves you wanting more Celena!

Comment on this review

 
5.0

Great collection of novellas

By Kate @ Fictional Thoughts

from Brisbane, AU

About Me Bookworm

Verified Reviewer

Pros

  • Deserves Multiple Readings
  • Well Written

Cons

    Best Uses

    • Older Readers
    • Younger Readers

    Comments about The Assassin's Blade:

    I'm not normally a fan of novellas but The Assassin's Blade is a great collection of stories bridging the gap of from when Celaena Sardothien was Adarlan's Assassin to her time in the salt mines.

    One of the highlights of this book is you can be new to the Throne of Glass series or a veteran fan - there is something in this book for everyone. The five stories each focus on a different mission Celaena had to undertake for Arobynn Hamel - King of the Assassins. Her assignments take her from the high seas to the depths of the arid desert and back to the capital, Rifthold. No place is too remote or too dark for Celaena but we get to see that there's more to Celaena than meets the eye. Her own moral code often conflicts with that of her patron and she finds herself questioning the closest thing she has to a father.

    I've been a fan of Sarah J Mass' writing since I first read Throne of Glass. And whilst this collection of novellas is not required to understand and enjoy the books, The Assassin's Blade is a great addition to the world Maas has created. Thoughout this collection, Celaena's growth is evident and she's one of those characters I would NEVER want to meet but I adore reading her stories. Brave, intelligent and fierce, Celaena gives her all to everything she attempts and lives her life on the edge. She's cocky and egotistical but her track record shows she has reason to be.

    This book introduces some brilliant new characters - including a well dressed pirate lord, a want-to-be healer and a girl who would do anything to get revenge - and they fit perfectly in the world. I enjoyed reading Celaena's antics with these people and would love to see them pop up at a later stage in the series. Another lovely thing about these novellas is the romance. Celaena's involvement with a certain young assassin has been mentioned several times in Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight but it was brilliant to get to see the relationship unfold from the beginning. It must have been hard to show a softer side to the legendary Adarlan's Assassin but Maas managed the task and it felt true to Celaena's character.

    I loved this book and am so glad that I got the chance to see where Celaena's story began. For fans of the series or those just wanting to read a great high fantasy story with brilliant characters and an assassin like no other - I could not recommend this book more highly. Great writing and engaging stories, this is a book that would appeal to young adults but also older readers too.

    Comment on this review

    Displaying reviews 1-2

    Back to top

    Fans of Tamora Pierce and George R.R. Martin, pick up this book! Praise for THRONE OF GLASS, RT Book Reviews Adventure fantasy spiced with titillating romance Praise for THRONE OF GLASS, Sunday Times The perfect fantasy for The Hunger Games fans Praise for THRONE OF GLASS, The Examiner I believe the word "unputdownable" was created for this very book Praise for THRONE OF GLASS, Once Upon a Time There are seriously no words to explain how epic this book was. I am still sat here completely reeling from the ending and my head is just spinning from all the epic awesomeness that happened Praise for CROWN OF MIDNIGHT, K-Books Enthralling and well-paced, exhilarating and wonderfully-written Praise for CROWN OF MIDNIGHT, Realm of Fiction With an ending that left me gaping in shock, my heart battered and my knuckles white, Crown of Midnight was a brilliant sequel and I can't wait to be back in Celaena's world again Praise for CROWN OF MIDNIGHT, So Many Books, So Little Time The plot is riddled with intrigue, and the fighting comes thick and fast. Crown of Midnight does not disappoint! Praise for CROWN OF MIDNIGHT, Dark Readers

    ISBN: 9781408851982
    ISBN-10: 1408851989
    Audience: Children
    For Ages: 11+ years old
    Format: Paperback
    Language: English
    Number Of Pages: 448
    Published: 1st March 2014
    Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.9  x 3.6
    Weight (kg): 0.31
    Edition Number: 1