+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Vigil : Verity Fassbinder : Book 1 - Angela Slatter

Vigil

Verity Fassbinder : Book 1

Paperback Published: 11th July 2017
ISBN: 9781784294045
Number Of Pages: 368

Other Formats

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $19.99
$15.95
20%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

A rich and exciting new urban fantasy, perfect for fans of Harry Dresden and Kinsey Milhone.

Verity Fassbinder has her feet in two worlds.

The daughter of one human and one Weyrd parent, she has very little power herself, but does claim unusual strength - and the ability to walk between us and the other - as a couple of her talents. As such a rarity, she is charged with keeping the peace between both races, and ensuring the Weyrd remain hidden from us.

But now Sirens are dying, illegal wine made from the tears of human children is for sale - and in the hands of those Weyrd who hold with the old ways - and someone has released an unknown and terrifyingly destructive force on the streets of Brisbane.

And Verity must investigate - or risk ancient forces carving our world apart.

VIGIL is the first book in award-winning author Angela Slatter's Verity Fassbinder series.

About the Author

Angela Slatter is the award-winning author of eight short story collections, including A Feast of Sorrows: Stories, Sourdough and Other Stories, The Bitterwood Bible and Other Recountings, and Winter Children and Other Chilling Tales. She has won the World Fantasy Award, the British Fantasy Award and five Aurealis Awards. Her short stories have appeared widely, including in annual British, Australian and North American Best Of anthologies, and her work has been translated into Spanish, Russian, Polish, Romanian, and Japanese.

Vigil was her first solo novel, and the sequel Corpselight is due out in July 2017. Angela lives in Brisbane, Australia.

A brilliant start to what promises to be an enjoyable series . . . Angela has set the scene for the rest of the series, by offering an original and fresh tale encompassing many genres that will enthral all readers alike - Starburst Magazine

The world of the Weyrd collides with modern-day Brisbane, bringing chaos in its wake. A brilliant new urban fantasy with elements of murder mystery and magic - I'm already looking forward to the next Verity Fassbinder adventure - Alison Littlewood, author of A Cold Season

A rich paranormal dark fantasy. - Sydney Morning Herald Online

Slatter's work is excellent, and eminently readable . . . It's easy to see how she's managed to make such an impact on the genre - British Fantasy Society

Angela Slatter is an Australian author who spins beautiful yarns in a musical, fascinating narrative style - SFSite

One of the most important voices in fantasy - SF Signal

Simply put: Slatter can write! Beautifully, stylishly, accurately. She conjures ghosts and spirits and forces us to recognise the monsters that are ourselves . . . she conjures the secret and private worlds hidden just inside the curtains of reality, and she does it with sentences as sparse and sharp-edged as unused razor blades. She's my pick: a writer who will constantly surprise; and just when you think she's at the top of her game, she will go on to become impossibly better. Read this writer. She'll drop the scales right out of your eyes! - Jack Dann, award-winning author of The Memory Cathedral

Verity Fassbinder comes on like a high-octane mix of Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden and Sue Grafton's Kinsey Milhone - dry, smart, funny, fuelled by a need to protect the weak, and driven by a past that haunts her. Verity's BrisVegas is a far cry from the streets of Brisbane you'll see in tourist brochures, a dark supernatural playground where anything can happen and where the strangest of us can find safe haven. If you loved True Blood, or if you've ever loved a great PI series, then Vigil is for you. Smart, funny, and engaging. I can't wait for the sequel! - Jonathan Strahan, editor of The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year series

ISBN: 9781784294045
ISBN-10: 1784294047
Series: Verity Fassbinder
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 368
Published: 11th July 2017
Publisher: Quercus Publishing Plc
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.7 x 13.0  x 2.4
Weight (kg): 0.28
Edition Number: 1

This product is categorised by