Add free shipping to your order with these great books
The Wall : City of Victory - Adrian Goldsworthy

The Wall

By: Adrian Goldsworthy

Paperback | 27 February 2024

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%OFF

Aims to ship in 7 to 10 business days

From bestselling historian Adrian Goldsworthy, the final book in his authentic, action-packed trilogy set on the frontiers of the Roman Empire.

Britannia, AD 117: Roman centurion Flavius Ferox is trying to live a quiet life of dignified leisure and resisting the urge to murder an annoying neighbour – until someone else does it for him. Dragged back into a life of violence, Ferox finds himself chasing raiders, fighting chieftains and negotiating with kings, journeying far into the north just as war breaks out. With the new emperor, Hadrian, sending agents from Rome, the whole world seems to be changing.

When, five years later, Hadrian himself goes to Britannia to inspect his great wall, a new war erupts suddenly, dividing tribes and families. Ferox is the only one who can save the emperor – but with his family, and his own life, in danger, Ferox must first decide whose side he is on...

Gritty, gripping and profoundly authentic, The Wall, set against the construction of Hadrian's Wall, is the final book in the City of Victory trilogy from bestselling historian Adrian Goldsworthy. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Harry Sidebottom.

Praise for Adrian Goldsworthy:

'No one knows the Roman army better than Adrian Goldsworthy, and no one writes more convincing Roman fiction.' Harry Sidebottom

'Gritty and realistic.' Daily Telegraph

'An extraordinarily rich picture of a battle on the Roman empire's borders.' The Times

'Brings the reader closer to the true nature of Roman Britain.' NB Magazine

About the Author

Adrian Goldsworthy's doctoral thesis formed the basis for his first book, The Roman Army at War 100 BC–AD 200 (OUP, 1996), and his research has focused on aspects of warfare in the Graeco-Roman world. He is the bestselling author of many ancient world titles, including both military history and historical novels. He also consults on historical documentaries for the History Channel, National Geographic, and the BBC.

Adrian Goldsworthy studied at Oxford, where his doctoral thesis examined the Roman army. He went on to become an acclaimed historian of Ancient Rome. He is the author of numerous works of non fiction, including Philip and Alexander: Kings and Conquerors, Caesar, The Fall of the West, Pax Romana, and Hadrian's Wall.

More in Historical Fiction

Juice : The New Novel - Tim Winton

RRP $49.99

$34.95

30%
OFF
Lessons in Chemistry : The multi-million-copy bestseller - Bonnie Garmus
Psykhe - Kate Forsyth

SIGNED COPY

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Bookbinder of Jericho - Pip Williams

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Mary I : Queen of Sorrows - Alison Weir

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Mrs Hopkins - Shirley Barrett

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Hazelbourne Ladies Motorcycle and Flying Club - Helen Simonson
Every Spy a Traitor : The Double Agent series - Alex Gerlis

RRP $39.99

$35.95

10%
OFF
The Household - Stacey Halls

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Imperial Harvest - Bruce Pascoe

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Free - Meg Keneally

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
The Lyrebird Lake Ladies Choir - Sandie Docker

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Studio Girls - Lisa Ireland

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Abandoned Women : Scottish Convicts Exiled Beyond the Seas - Lucy Frost
Cilka's Journey : The sequel to The Tattooist of Auschwitz - Heather Morris
The Tattooist of Auschwitz - Heather Morris

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF

Popular Searches