+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
The Destroyers - Christopher Bollen

Paperback Published: 1st August 2018
ISBN: 9781471136207
Number Of Pages: 496

Other Formats

Share This Book:

Paperback

Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 42 Qantas Points
on this Book

Other Available Editions (Hide)

  • ePUB View Product Published: 27th July 2017
    InstantDownload
    $12.99

When Charlie and I were young, we played a game called Destroyers . . . We were sharpening our instincts, jettisoning attachments. We were honing strategies for survival ...

Ian Bledsoe is on the run, broke and humiliated, fleeing the emotional and financial fallout of his father's death. His childhood friend Charlie – rich, exuberant and basking in life on the Greek island of Patmos – is his last hope.

At first, Patmos is like a dream – sun-soaked days on Charlie’s yacht and the reappearance of a girlfriend from Ian’s past – and Charlie readily offers the lifeline he desperately needs. But, like Charlie himself, this beautiful island conceals a darkness beneath. When he vanishes leaving behind his murky business affairs, Ian finds himself caught in a terrifying labyrinth of deceits. As boys, the pair played a game called Destroyers – a game, he now realizes, they may never have stopped playing.

Expansive, vivid and suspenseful, in the vein of Donna Tartt's The Goldfinch, The Destroyers is a mesmerizing drama of power and fate, fathers and sons, self-invention and self-deception.

About the Author

Christopher Bollen is a writer who lives in New York City. He regularly writes about art, literature, and culture. He is the author of Lightning People and Orient and is currently the Editor at Large at Interview Magazine.

Industry Reviews

"The Destroyers is a smart, sophisticated literary thriller; for all its originality, it invokes the shades of Lawrence Durrell and Graham Greene"
Jay McInerney, author of Bright, Precious Days

"Equal parts Graham Greene, Patricia Highsmith and F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Destroyers is at once lyrical and suspenseful, thoughtful and riveting"
Garth Greenwell, author of What Belongs to You

"The Destroyers manages to be both fast-paced and contemplative, an excellent entertainment and also something more lasting, a haunting meditation on friendship and desperation"
Guardian, Best Holiday Reads of 2017

ISBN: 9781471136207
ISBN-10: 1471136205
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 496
Published: 1st August 2018
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 13.0  x 3.3
Weight (kg): 0.41

Earn 42 Qantas Points
on this Book

This product is categorised by