The Boy from the Mish : CBCA's Shortlist Older Readers 2022 - Gary Lonesborough

The Boy from the Mish

CBCA's Shortlist Older Readers 2022

By: Gary Lonesborough

Paperback | 2 February 2021

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $19.99

$18.25

In Stock and Aims to ship next day

A funny and heart-warming queer Indigenous YA novel, set in a rural Australian community, about seventeen-year-old Jackson finding the courage to explore who he is, even if it scares him.

'I don't paint so much anymore,' I say, looking to my feet.

'Oh. Well, I got a boy who needs to do some art. You can help him out,' Aunty Pam says, like I have no say in the matter, like she didn't hear what I just said about not painting so much anymore. 'Jackson, this is Tomas. He's living with me for a little while.'


It's a hot summer, and life's going all right for Jackson and his family on the Mish. It's almost Christmas, school's out, and he's hanging with his mates, teasing the visiting tourists, avoiding the racist boys in town. Just like every year, Jackson's Aunty and annoying little cousins visit from the city - but this time a mysterious boy with a troubled past comes with them… As their friendship evolves, Jackson must confront the changing shapes of his relationships with his friends, family and community. And he must face his darkest secret - a secret he thought he'd locked away for good.

Compelling, honest and beautifully written, The Boy from the Mish is about first love, identity, and the superpower of self-belief.

About the Author

Gary Lonesborough is a Yuin man, who grew up on the Far South Coast of NSW as part of a large and proud Aboriginal family. Growing up a massive Kylie Minogue and North Queensland Cowboys fan, Gary was always writing as a child, and continued his creative journey when he moved to Sydney to study at film school.

Gary has experience working in Aboriginal health, the disability sector (including experience working in the Youth Justice System), and the film industry. He was Bega Valley Shire Council Young Citizen of the Year, won the Patrick White Young Indigenous Writers' Award, and has received a Copyright Agency First Nations Fellowship. The Boy from the Mish is Gary's debut YA novel.
Industry Reviews
'Sizzlingly complicated...a sweet will-they, won't-they romance with welcome Indigenous Australian representation. What starts as a slow-burn love story riddled with internalized homophobia blossoms into a beautiful relationship alongside discussions of racism and classism. The first-person present-tense narration offers a sense of immediacy that makes every moment count, from raucous parties to romantic bushwalks. The sights, sounds, and inhabitants of the fictional rural Koori community, which is informed by Lonesborough's own life, are richly rendered. An affirming, textured coming-out story.' STARRED REVIEW, Kirkus Reviews, US (US title Ready When You Are)

'Gary Lonesborough handles the characters...with an honesty that brings them to life, telling the story with...sweetness and charm...unexpected and delightful...This heartwarming debut novel will appeal to fans of David Levithan and Becky Albertalli.' Tehani Croft, Books+Publishing

'Authentic, funny and rich in themes to discuss, this book should be on the radar of both general YA readers and every English teacher and school librarian...At its heart, this novel is a gorgeous and compelling love story between two Aboriginal boys. It's the kind of gentle, tender romance that will make your heart swell.' Nina Kenwood, Readings

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Stories for Secondary (Young Adult)

Dark Emu : Aboriginal Australia and the Birth of Agriculture - Bruce Pascoe
Becoming Kirrali Lewis - Jane Harrison

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Remembered by Heart : An Anthology of Indigenous Writing - Sally Morgan
Freedom Ride - Sue Lawson

Paperback

$19.99

Grace Beside Me - Sue McPherson

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
Us Mob Walawurru - David Spillman

RRP $17.99

$16.75

The Story of Australia : For the Young (And the Curious) - Don Watson
Ruby Moonlight - Ali Cobby Eckermann

RRP $27.99

$15.75

44%
OFF
Calypso Summer - Jared Thomas

RRP $22.99

$17.35

25%
OFF
Fog A Dox - Bruce Pascoe

Paperback

RRP $21.99

$19.75

10%
OFF
Jandamarra and the Bunuba Resistance : A True Story - Banjo Woorunmurra
Love Like Water - Meme McDonald

$29.99

Songs That Sound Like Blood - Jared Thomas

RRP $22.99

$20.40

11%
OFF
A Most Peculiar Act : A Novel - Marie Munkara

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Lemons in the Chicken Wire - Alison Whittaker

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF

NAIDOC Week Stories for Children

Shake A Leg - Boori Monty Pryor

Hardcover

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Dark Emu : Aboriginal Australia and the Birth of Agriculture - Bruce Pascoe
Story Doctors - Boori Monty Pryor

Hardcover

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Stolen Girl - Trina Saffioti

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Silly Birds - Gregg Dreise

Hardcover

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
Kookoo Kookaburra - Gregg Dreise

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
The Lost Girl - Ambelin Kwaymullina

Paperback

$17.99

Alfred's War - Rachel Bin Salleh

Hardcover

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
Our Island - Alison Lester

Paperback

RRP $16.99

$15.80

Sorry Sorry - Anne; Pitt, Mardi Kerr

Hardcover

RRP $29.99

$28.50

Sorry Day - Coral Vass

Paperback

RRP $17.99

$16.75

Somebody's Land : WELCOME TO OUR COUNTRY - Adam Goodes

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Took the Children Away : The Iconic Song of the Stolen Generations - Archie Roach
Colours of Australia - Bronwyn Bancroft

RRP $17.99

$16.75

Follow the Rabbit Proof Fence : Nungar Ser. - Doris Pilkington Garimara

RRP $19.95

$15.50

22%
OFF
Two Mates - Melanie Prewett

Paperback

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Our World : Bardi-Jaawi Life at Ardiyooloon - One Arm Point Remote Community School

RRP $33.00

$23.75

28%
OFF

2022 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards Indigenous Writing Shortlist

Dropbear : Winner of the 2022 Stella Prize - Evelyn Araluen

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Another Day in the Colony - Chelsea Watego

RRP $29.99

$24.90

17%
OFF
Black and Blue : A Memoir of Racism and Resilience - Veronica Gorrie

Celebrating Harmony Week

Love Makes a Family - Sophie Beer

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Somebody's Land : WELCOME TO OUR COUNTRY - Adam Goodes

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Under the Love Umbrella - Davina Bell

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Hello and Welcome - Gregg Dreise

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
A Glasshouse of Stars : CBCA Winner Younger Readers 2022 - Shirley Marr
Macquarie Atlas of Indigenous Australia : 2nd Edition - Bill Arthur
Koori Princess - Anita Heiss

RRP $17.99

$16.75

How to Say Hello - Sophie Beer

$23.90

Common Wealth : CBCA's Notable Children's Picture Book 2022 - Gregg Dreise
Our Home, Our Heartbeat - Adam Briggs

RRP $26.99

$22.95

15%
OFF
This is Me! - Sally Morgan

Board Book

RRP $14.99

$14.25

Indigenous Australia For Kids For Dummies : For Dummies - Larissa Behrendt
The Story of Australia : For the Young (And the Curious) - Don Watson
Whoever You are : Whoever you Are - Mem Fox

RRP $16.99

$15.80

The World Awaits - Tomos ROBERTS

RRP $24.99

$6.95

72%
OFF
Eyes that Kiss in the Corners - Joanna Ho

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Our Skin : A First Conversation About Race - Megan Madison
All About Diversity : All About - Felicity Brooks

RRP $19.99

$18.25

Albert Namatjira - Vincent Namatjira

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF
Listen, Layla : CBCA's Notable Younger Reader's Book 2022 - Yassmin Abdel-Magied

CBCA Awards 2022 Shortlist

Jetty Jumping : CBCA Winner Early Childhood 2022 - Andrea Rowe

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Iceberg : CBCA Winner Children's Picture Book 2022 - Claire Saxby
Huda and Me : CBCA's Shortlist Younger Readers 2022 - H. Hayek
Stellarphant : CBCA Honour Title Children's Picture Book 2022 - James Foley
Dragon Skin : CBCA Honour Title Younger Readers 2022 - Karen Foxlee
Tiger Daughter : CBCA Winner Older Readers 2022 - Rebecca Lim

RRP $17.99

$16.25

10%
OFF
Blue Flower : CBCA's Shortlist Children's Picture Book 2022 - Sonya Hartnett
A Glasshouse of Stars : CBCA Winner Younger Readers 2022 - Shirley Marr
Walk of the Whales : CBCA Honour Title Early Childhood 2022 - Nick Bland
The Inheritance : CBCA's Shortlist Children's Picture Book 2022 - Armin Greder
Sugar Town Queens : CBCA's Shortlist Older Readers 2022 - Malla Nunn
For Love : CBCA's Shortlist Award for New Illustrators 2022 - Cristina Niri

CBCA Shortlist 2022 - Older Readers

Tiger Daughter : CBCA Winner Older Readers 2022 - Rebecca Lim

RRP $17.99

$16.25

10%
OFF
Sugar Town Queens : CBCA's Shortlist Older Readers 2022 - Malla Nunn

NSW Premier's Literary Awards 2022 - Indigenous Writers’ Prize

Bila Yarrudhanggalangdhuray : River of Dreams - Anita Heiss

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
God, the Devil and Me - Alf Taylor

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF