+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Sweetbitter : Vintage Contemporaries - Stephanie Danler

Sweetbitter

Vintage Contemporaries

Paperback Published: 4th April 2017
ISBN: 9781101911860
Number Of Pages: 368

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $29.99
$23.75
21%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 48 Qantas Points
on this Book

INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER  *  A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan.  Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter

Twenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at "the best restaurant in New York City." Grueling hours and a steep culinary learning curve awaken her to the beauty of oysters, the finest Champagnes, the appellations of Burgundy. At the same time, she opens herself to friendships-and love-set against the backdrop of dive bars and late nights.  As her appetites sharpen-for food and wine, but also for knowledge, experience, and belonging-Tess is drawn into a darkly alluring love triangle that will prove to be her most exhilarating and painful lesson of all. 
 
Stephanie Danler deftly conjures the nonstop and purely adrenalized world of the restaurant-conversations interrupted, phrases overheard, and suggestions below the surface. Evoking the infinite possibility of being young in New York with heart-stopping accuracy, Sweetbitter is ultimately about the power of what remains after disillusionment, and the wisdom that comes from experience, sweet and bitter.


From the Hardcover edition.

Industry Reviews

NATIONAL BEST SELLER

"Outstanding." --Gabrielle Hamilton, The New York Times Book Review

"Vivid and exquisite." --NPR

"[A] heady first taste of self-discovery, bitter and salty and sweet." --Entertainment Weekly

"Meticulously rendered." --Los Angeles Times

"Ravishing. . . . It tantalizes, seduces, satisfies." --O, The Oprah Magazine

"Smart, delicious. . . . A sexy, sweaty book of sensory overload." --The Washington Post

"[Sweetbitter] is going to make a lot of people hungry." .--The New York Times

"A heady mix of youth, love, gastronomic delights and determined self-invention. . . . [Danler] is a writer of prodigious talent." --San Francisco Chronicle

"A raw, shucked, pungent, wild love story." --Marie Claire

"Sexy, astute. . . . Anyone who's ever tied on an apron will think, 'Finally, someone wrote a book about us.' And nailed it." --People

"This dynamite book is filled with the heart-wrenching indignities of self-discovery, and gives a gritty, inside look to the fast-paced, drug-filled, whirlwind scene of restaurant life." --Bon App tit

ISBN: 9781101911860
ISBN-10: 1101911867
Series: Vintage Contemporaries
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 368
Published: 4th April 2017
Publisher: Vintage
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.32 x 13.34  x 1.91
Weight (kg): 0.27

Earn 48 Qantas Points
on this Book

This product is categorised by