Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Southern Man : The next thrilling Penn Cage novel from the bestselling author of CEMETERY ROAD, for fans of John Grisham, David Baldacci and Harlan Coben - Greg Iles

Southern Man

The next thrilling Penn Cage novel from the bestselling author of CEMETERY ROAD, for fans of John Grisham, David Baldacci and Harlan Coben

By: Greg Iles

Paperback | 5 June 2024

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

The hugely anticipated new Penn Cage novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Natchez Burning trilogy and Cemetery Road, about a man-and a town-rocked by anarchy and tragedy, but unbowed in the fight to save those they love.

Fifteen years after the events of the Natchez Burning trilogy, Penn Cage is alone. Nearly all his loved ones are dead, and his old allies gone. Pursued by enemies and demoralized by a divided community, he's found sanctuary on a former cotton plantation above the Mississippi River. But Penn's self-imposed exile comes to an abrupt end when a brawl at a Bienville rap concert triggers a shooting - one that nearly takes the life of his daughter Annie.

Before the stunned city can process the tragedy, an arsonist starts torching antebellum plantation homes in Natchez and Bienville. When an unknown Black radical group claims the deadly fires as acts of historic justice, citywide panic ensues, driving a prosperous Southern town to the brink of race war. Drafted by Bienville's mayor to end the crisis and restore peace, Penn investigates the fires as casualties mount and armed marchers move toward a decisive clash.

But Penn suspects that the arson attacks may not be what they seem - not retribution by radicals, but false-flag strikes designed to trigger the very chaos he sees roiling the streets. For that mayhem provides state and county leaders the excuse to dissolve the Black-run Bienville city government and seize control. It's up to Penn and a band of locals to uncover the truth and expose those trying to destabilize the city.

In Southern Man, Greg Iles returns to the riveting style and historic depth that made the Natchez Burning trilogy a searing masterpiece and hurls the narrative fifteen years forward into our current moment - where America teeters on the fence between anarchy and salvation.

About the Author

Greg Iles has spent most of his life in Natchez, Mississippi. His first novel, Spandau Phoenix, was the first of seventeen New York Times bestsellers. His Natchez Burning trilogy continued the story of Penn Cage, the protagonist of The Quiet Game, Turning Angel, and #1 New York Times bestseller The Devil's Punchbowl. Iles's novels have been made into films and published in more than thirty-five countries. He is a member of the lit-rock group The Rock Bottom Remainders, lives in Natchez with his wife, and has three children.

More in Political & Legal Thrillers

2034 : A Novel of the Next World War - Elliot Ackerman

RRP $22.99

$21.90

Kennedy 35 : Box 88 - Charles Cumming

RRP $32.99

$31.35

Dark Angel : The Letty Davenport series - John Sandford

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $22.99

$21.90

2054 : A Novel - Elliot Ackerman

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Investigator : The Letty Davenport series - John Sandford
All I Said Was True - Imran Mahmood

RRP $29.99

$16.75

44%
OFF
Order to Kill : The Mitch Rapp Series - Vince Flynn

RRP $22.99

$21.90

Agent in the Shadows : The Wolf Pack Spies - Alex Gerlis

FREE SHIPPING

State of the Union : Scot Harvath : Book 3 - Brad Thor

RRP $29.99

$25.95

13%
OFF
Rachel to the Rescue - Elinor Lipman

RRP $20.99

$18.90

10%
OFF
The Crash - Robert Peston

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

A Grave for a Thief : A Company of Rogues - Douglas Skelton
The Drone : The Gonzales & Vaslik Investigations - Adrian Magson

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $22.99

$20.75

10%
OFF
The Midnight Conspiracy : Joe Mason - David Leadbeater

RRP $32.99

$30.25